Skip to content

Things That Make Me Happy: #52

April 15, 2010

#52: Babies and Children

I love babies. I actually love children of all ages, but especially babies. Everybody loves babies (even if you don’t want one yourself, you still love them… c’mon, admit it…).

It’s probably why I started babysitting as soon as it was legal. I love the way babies smell, I love when they smile and laugh, I love their innate curiosity. Babies are so soft and squishy. I love when a little kid climbs onto my lap or holds my hand. I love when babies and little kids discover things for the first time. There is so much wonder and joy in, like, cardboard boxes and stuffed animals and plastic blocks.

I think about having kids often. Not that we’re having children right now (bling before baby!), but there are a surprising amount of families in Manhattan. I live on the Upper West Side, which is like the Park Slope of Manhattan, so I see children and babies all the time. Now that I’m in my mid-twenties, babies are at the forefront of thinking. I am already trying to lower my A1C into the Baby Range. I figured, “Might as well start now.” Knowing my A1C track record, I need all the time I can get! Maybe it’s my biological clock ticking away now that I’m in my mid-twenties, but I feel like I noticed babies a lot more than I did when I was younger. Not that it’s a problem, since I’m noticing the most adorable creatures on the planet!

Today, a member of the diabetes community welcomed her own little baby into the world. Although a baby is still in the distant future for me, I dream of the day when I will do the same.

3 Comments
  1. April 15, 2010 2:06 PM

    Congrats to your friend! I think you’re right – we do think about them the more time starts ticking away🙂 For me, I definitely want to have kids – maybe closer to 30 though; give myself a few years where we can travel and enjoy marriage first, and also get my back into better shape to be able to support myself🙂

    • April 15, 2010 2:10 PM

      I with you… my mom was 31 when she had me and that always sounded like the best age, since you could have your twenties all to yourself.

  2. April 15, 2010 6:01 PM

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I, too, love babies. What a great series! I think it would do all of us a lot of good to think of things that make us happy on a regular basis.🙂

Comments are closed.