Skip to content

An Accidental Harvard.

March 26, 2010

This is a continuation of Tuesday’s post, An Accidental Boston.

We woke up fairly early on Sunday morning, and decided to head straight over to Cambridge for breakfast. We didn’t have much left in Boston that we wanted to do, so we drove over to Cambridge rather than coming back to Boston for the car (Erik’s, not mine).

One of my favorite things in Cambridge isn’t even a Cambridge native. It’s Peet’s Coffee & Tea, which originated in California, but the only East Coast outposts are in the Boston area. So of course, I had to make my pilgrimage to Peet’s for a coffee and scone. The coffee is so much better than Starbucks and I wish I could take Peet’s home with me! (Technically I can, since they sell Peet’s at the grocery store, but I don’t drink coffee regularly and don’t know how to make my own coffee… I just never bothered to learn).

When we were finished, we wandered around for a bit and made our way over to the Harvard campus. I, of course, forced Erik to take a picture touching John Harvard’s shoe. And I also got my picture taken with him as well. My third time touching John Harvard’s foot, so clearly I’m like swimming in good luck, according to the legend for why people touch his foot.

The surrounding area of Cambridge is adorable, so we spent some time walking around. We also stopped at a travel bookstore called The Globe Corner Bookstore and picked up a couple of books as gifts (I would tell you what they are but the intended recipients read my blog and we wouldn’t want to ruin the surprise now would we?). We stopped at John Harvard’s Brew House for lunch and had way too much fun taking picture of the beer sampler we got (well, Erik got – I hate beer).

Afterward, we decided to embark on the four hour drive back to Manhattan. It was a lovely 24 hours in Boston and hopefully it won’t be long before I return!

11 Comments
  1. March 26, 2010 10:28 AM

    I thought only Asian tourists did the lucky foot thing! Well, I’ve touched it twice in my life, so I guess I need to go back for lucky #3!

    I also love Peet’s. Definitely better than the Tim Horton’s crap that we have in Canada.

    • March 26, 2010 10:32 AM

      No, everyone does it! We had to wait like 5 minutes for a high school group to finish taking their pics. One girl just pointed at the shoe instead of touching it and I was like, “No, you have to touch it! That’s the point!” I guess she’s a germaphone?

      I had Tim Horton’s a few times when it came to NYC. There’s a Tim Horton’s in Penn Station and I used to get their iced latte about once a week when I was commuting to New Jersey. Then I decided it was absolute crap coffee and stopped getting it. I get mochas occasionally from Starbucks and from Stumptown since I now work kinda near it, but for the most part, I’m a non-coffee girl.

  2. Sam permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:38 AM

    Hey,

    don’t mean to burst your bubble. But when I was in college in Boston…it’s well known that it is a rite of passage for freshman to drunkenly pee on John Harvards foot. I.e. In the future…don’t touch it! Great blog tho, I’ve been a reader for some time. I am T1 as well!

    • March 26, 2010 10:41 AM

      Well sure, I’m sure people do a lot of gross things to the statue, but I imagine that through rain and snow, by the time I get around to touching the foot in the spring, it’s pretty well washed away. Clearly hundreds and hundreds of people still do it. I also live in New York City, so dirt, grime, urine and dog poop are regular rites of passage around here! if I was afraid of germs, I wouldn’t go outside!

    • April 8, 2010 7:32 AM

      You picked a perfect day for a stroll round Cambridge, glad you made it back to Peet’s.

      I’m not sure how anyone could pee on that foot and NO, I don’t want the details.🙂

  3. March 28, 2010 7:05 PM

    Hm I have actually never touched the foot… Very interesting.

    And I meant to tell you, I will be moving to the Bronx next year!!! So I will be in the city!!

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

    • March 28, 2010 8:32 PM

      That’s awesome! Next year as in 2011 or next year as in the school year?

  4. March 29, 2010 12:17 AM

    Coming in August!

  5. March 29, 2010 7:41 AM

    Oh wow, perfect coffee, sightseeing, and books – sounds like heaven!!🙂

  6. March 30, 2010 3:47 PM

    It’s interesting, when I lived in San Francisco, we used to have Peet’s Coffee everywhere, and I was never overwhelmed by it. In fact, that was the supplier to my office at Wells Fargo, and I would occasionally run to the corner coffee shop instead. My personal coffee favorites are usually not chains of any type, but hand-roasted coffee, freshly ground. There are a handful of those places around, and Stew Leonard’s in Connecticut roasts the coffee in-store (although I don’t think they roast the beans dark enough for my tastes). My only question is whether the coffee at Peet’s in Boston tastes the same as it does in Oregon? Sometimes when the coffee is shipped cross-country, it looses some of the flavor … or am I wrong about that?

    • March 30, 2010 4:38 PM

      I think my obsession with Peet’s isn’t so much that it’s amazing, life-changing coffee but that it’s a little bit of home. Being three thousand miles away, Peet’s brings back memories of college and of Portland, even though it’s not even Oregon-based. One of my best friends in college worked at a Peet’s and sang its praises, and so going to Peet’s brings me back to yesteryear. It’s also very good! Though probably not the greatest (in fact, I don’t like regular Peet’s coffee, and need it with some kind of flavor, or even as a latte). I know Peet’s is particular about when and how to roast, and how long to keep the coffee, so I’m sure it’s fairly fresh. Peet’s isn’t like Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts or Tim Horton’s, it’s kinda of a cross between hand-roasted and totally commercial.

Comments are closed.