Skip to content

Everybody Loves An Irish Girl!

March 17, 2010

I think the people of New York missed the memo that today is St. Patrick’s Day. This morning on the subway, no one was wearing green! Where is the holiday spirit?! I was aghast! If this was high school, a whole lot of people would be getting pinched right about now!

I happen to be wearing green right now. It’s only one of two green items of clothing I actually own. For some reason I never seem to buy green, which is strange because I like the color and I look just fine in it. I suppose it just isn’t what I usually think to pick out.

When I was in high school I remember seeing one of those “Everybody Loves an Irish Girl!” t-shirts in the mall, and I wanted to buy one but I felt like I would be a fraud because I wasn’t actually Irish. But then in college I found out I am Irish thanks to some investigation work by my cousin. My grandmother was adopted, but it turns out that her father was Irish-American! I’m only like 1/18th Irish, but still. It counts!

I’m not actually doing anything special for St. Patrick’s Day beyond wearing a bit of green. I dislike beer greatly (read: hate with a passion) and have a church group meeting tonight. But hopefully others are in the holiday spirit!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

7 Comments
  1. Tricia permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:02 AM

    We’re all Irish on St. Paddy’s Day!!! I’m wearing green/shamrock socks today:)

  2. March 17, 2010 10:02 AM

    I have on my green for the day! I’m adopted, so I have no real idea of my ancesory. I think there’s some German on my biological grandmother’s side, but beyond that, I’m at a loss. But as long as I can remember I’ve been in love with St. Patrick’s day. Up until this year, I acutally decorated my cubicle at work, complete w/ shamrocks. I’ve always said my love of the holiday must mean I have some Irish in me somewhere…

    • March 17, 2010 10:06 AM

      I didn’t know you were adopted! That’s so cool! And yay for decorations! I didn’t even think about doing that… I think that’s funny. My desk is right next to the kitchen so I’ve thought about being the designated holiday food provider. I might bring Easter eggs to work.

  3. March 17, 2010 10:08 AM

    Happy St Patrick’s Day to you, too! I’m a full quarter Irish.🙂 (You totally can’t tell that by looking at me, right? :P)

  4. March 17, 2010 6:48 PM

    Well – the grandparents were Irish, so guess I am, too. I agree, today anybody who wants to be Irish should celebrate!

Comments are closed.