Skip to content

Early Bird.

March 9, 2010

One of the many obstacles I find in working out on a consistent bases is finding time. I work fairly consistent hours and I’m lucky that I don’t have to do much overtime, but I also try to have an active social life, and between friends and my boyfriend, it’s challenging to find time to make it to the gym. For the most part, my workouts have always been done in the evening, after work. This worked out well for awhile, especially when I first moved here and didn’t have friends or a boyfriend. But nowadays I find it a struggle to pass up dinner or a movie to work out – especially considering how much I don’t enjoy working out.

Yesterday morning I decided to try something new. I decided to go to the gym in the morning. This was always the option I resisted because I am not a morning person. I hate waking up early, especially in the winter when it’s cold. But I finally recognize that working out is something that I need to do on a regular basis, both because I need to lose weight and also because it helps my blood sugar management. As we approach spring, the weather is getting a little nicer and it’s actually sunny out when I head to the gym so it’s not completely painful. But I am not sure if working out every morning is going to be something I can sustain.

What is your workout routine? Are you an early bird or a night owl? How do you find time to fit in your workout?

9 Comments
  1. March 9, 2010 10:11 AM

    I HAVE to workout in the morning because otherwise it wouldn’t happen! I just don’t have time in the evenings. It’s definitely tough to get up at first but eventually it gets easier! Promise🙂

  2. March 9, 2010 12:43 PM

    I am NOT a morning person. I just recently started working out on piece of equipment that a friend gave me. (I’m also not a gym person) Since it’s in my home, I usually find time most evenings while watching TV or something. Otherwise, I don’t think it’d ever get done.

  3. March 9, 2010 1:06 PM

    morning workouts take time to get used to. I fluctuate, winter I do better with after work and spring/summer/fall I do better with morning. I also notice that if I work out in the afternoon, I have less time to eat snacks I don’t need… which is a benefit!

    • March 9, 2010 1:26 PM

      I could see doing better in the morning in spring/summer when it’s light outside. When it’s dark, there is little motivation to get out of bed!

  4. March 9, 2010 1:34 PM

    I guess I won’t be that much help since I haven’t had a consistent workout routine for months, but when I did I would go right after work. It really does take up like your whole day though. I would get out at 4 ish and then spend at least 2 hours, three days a week working out. After I got out of the gym there wasn’t much time for anything besides dinner, and then getting ready for the next day. I tried getting up early to go for a 20 min run, but I haven’t succeeded so far. Good luck!

  5. March 9, 2010 1:54 PM

    I JUST started working out properly – I’ve got a series of strengthening exercises for my back I try to do daily and because they’re all on the floor I do them while I’m watching Rich Bride Poor Bride before supper lol. As for running – I’ve only used my treadmill twice, and I’m told not to go running before bed because you’ll be all energised and it will be harder to fall asleep – and I couldn’t run BEFORE work if you paid me, so I try and do that as soon as I get home from work too. Then I feel okay about relaxing the rest of the evening🙂

  6. March 9, 2010 4:05 PM

    I hate it, but I get up at 4:30 am everyday to workout before work. I know that I’ll never do it otherwise.

    • March 9, 2010 4:44 PM

      Amy, are you sure you’re human? No really. Cuz you kinda make me sick.

  7. March 10, 2010 7:22 AM

    I’ve been exercising in the mornings more often since I started working full-time…..and I’m liking it more and more! I remember my jaw dropping when my dad told me that he was starting to get up and go to 6 AM spin class, but his reasoning was right: If you do it in the morning, you can check it off your to-do list and be done with it. If you save it for the evening, then it’s so easy to stay late at work….get caught up in something else….feel too tired from the day….etc. etc. etc. Of course, it’s easy to feel tired in the morning, but hauling your butt out of bed is the part that takes practice! And honestly, all the times I’ve gotten up before dark to go work out make me feel kind of badass. “Look, self! You’re so hardcore that you went running before sunrise when all the other wimps out there are sleeping in! Ha!”

    Here are the things that help me in the mornings:
    -Knowing what time I need to be out the door in order to get an adequate workout, so I don’t dawdle.
    -Pulling out my workout clothes and sneakers and putting them on my chair.
    -Planning the workout I’m going to do, what I’m going to enjoy about it (even if it’s often just the magazine I’ll read on the elliptical😛 ), and thinking about how energized and accomplished I’ll feel once I’m done! (Also, when I work out in the morning, I feel relieved in the evening…I don’t have to worry about it and can just chill for the rest of the day!)
    -And now that it’s springier, I think I’ll start sleeping with my shades cracked/partially open, so that the early sunlight wakes me up naturally. That’s what happened to me today….and it’s so nice I don’t even feel grumpy that it was at 6:45!

    As for finding time…..my best shot is having a goal to work towards. Do you have a 5K in mind yet for the C25K program? Just thinking about the crossing the finish line stronger and faster than ever helps me get my bum in gear!!

Comments are closed.