Skip to content

The Perfect Fit

March 2, 2010

After deciding to join the C25K program, I realized that the shoes I had, while athletic and all, weren’t necessarily designed for running. I didn’t want to fork over a huge chunk of change on something that I may end up giving up in 10 weeks (I try to be realistic – my track record for sticking to fitness isn’t exactly great), so I researched different running shoes to see what would be good but at a reasonable price.

The winner: Asics Gel-1150. They had good ratings, were meant for running and supposed to help overpronation, and they were purple. What more could I want? They were also $85, which was a little pricey compared to most shoes I bought but I thought it was reasonable compared to most running shoes I saw online. I ordered them on Zappos, and a few days later they arrived at my office.

I didn’t have a chance to use them until last night, however. They fit comfortably but having never really worn proper running shoes, I didn’t have anything to compare with. They felt better than the shoes I had, but who knows what that really means?

My run at New York Sports Club went well. I definitely could feel a difference in how my feet felt, but I suffered a little with shin splints, which I attribute to my blood sugar being high, ringing in at 278 mg/dl. I noticed that if I work out too high, even if I know I will drop, that it affects my overall physical feeling. I ended my work out at 97 mg/dl, but I definitely don’t think I’ll be starting that high again. I also think my body works out better if I eat before, even though having the insulin on board (that means having insulin in your system that hasn’t been used for food yet) can make things a little wonky (exercise makes you sensitive to insulin, so people can have low blood sugar). As every athlete knows, having food in your system helps your perform better, but when you have diabetes, food and insulin can sometimes make it a little more complicated! I have also noticed that running makes me drop way harder than just using the elliptical machine.

It’s still a little early for me to truly appreciate the shoes, since I’m so out of shape, but I believe that they will help. And they look pretty cute too.

10 Comments
  1. March 2, 2010 10:34 AM

    I hate shin splints! I get them all the time. I’ve never really thought about how exercise would co-relate to your blood sugar before. Does that impact energy levels as well? I really need to research this, as that just might be a factor that’s working against me right now (albeit not as seriously as it affects you).

    • March 2, 2010 10:41 AM

      Blood sugar levels definitely impact overall energy level. Blood sugars that are too high or too low can have a draining effect on a person, though I am not as sensitive to it when my blood sugar is high. But some people become very sluggish when their blood sugar is out of range. Eating before exercise is definitely important, but then you have three variables instead of just one working against your blood sugar level. It’s tedious!

  2. Rob permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:59 AM

    Two suggestions that might help. (1) Your shin splints could be a result of your stride. Try to make sure your feet are striking the ground on the ball of your feet; striking with the heel first could be your shin splint culprit. (2) Try eating before you exercise, but under-bolusing for the snack. For example, have a small snack before you run, but bolus less than half what you ordinarily would for that snack (e.g., if your I:C ratio is 1:8 and you have a 20g snack give yourself less than 1u). That way the exercise, with the help of the small bolus works together to cover the snack.

  3. March 2, 2010 12:20 PM

    Once you’re running more I’m sure you will love them!! I’ve heard good things about that line of shoes.

    Sometimes shin splints happen if you try to do too much too fast, maybe take a bit more walking breaks. Also ICE is your friend🙂 I ALWAYS ice my knees and shins after almost every run!

    Have fun!

    • March 2, 2010 12:30 PM

      I don’t think it’s possible to walk any more! The program starts off with 5 minutes of walking, and then throughout, you run for a minute and then walk for 90 seconds, and keep going like that. And then end with 5 minutes of cool down. It’s a lot of walking!

  4. March 2, 2010 9:13 PM

    Your new running shoes are very cute and stylish. I love the color purple, so of course that wins points with me. I run a lot and can totally relate to your blood sugar dropping when you run compared to the ellipticle. I always try to have no IOB becausee it affect my blood sugar so much. Good luck with everything – you’ll do great!!

  5. March 3, 2010 10:14 AM

    Love the shoes! And meant to tell you, there is a potential that I will be doing my year of service in the Bronx next year! I would be living in NYC and then we could definitely track down one another! So excited, will keep you posted love.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  6. March 3, 2010 10:36 AM

    Oh gosh so sorry to hear about the shin splints! I think Amber’s right though – alternating between running and walking would probably help (says the running noob lol). Loving the new shoes🙂

Comments are closed.