Skip to content

February Recap and March Goals

March 1, 2010

February Recap:

1. Keep a food journal and write down everything that I eat. – FAIL

I started keeping a food journal, but I lost track of it over a weekend and just couldn’t remember what I ate. So I scrapped that goal for the month and plan on revisiting it later.

2. Send a sussy. – SUCCESS!

I sent a sussy for the Blogger Valentine exchange to Vanessa in Philadelphia. I sent her Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg.

3. Write in a prayer journal once a week. – SUCCESS!

I have written in my prayer journal 4 times this month, which is about once a week. And I feel better doing it too so yay!

4. Download and listen to the sermons from Imago Dei Community Church. – SUCCESS!

It’s a little awkward though, because the sermons are not posted the same day each week, so I have listened to a couple of them at the same time. But I have so far listened to all the sermons going back to January 23 and it’s so great to listen to them at work. Pastor Rick is so funny, but it really makes me miss Portland!

5. Floss my teeth everyday. – SUCCESS!!!!!!

Oh yeah! That’s right! Look who’s flossin’ now! After my awful dental appointment last fall, I hung my head in shame at my flosslessness, so I am really proud of myself that flossed my teeth every. single. night this month. I even did the stars on the calendar to help me remember!

March Goals:

Send another sussy. This is one of my favorite things on my list right now! If you would like to nominate yourself for a sussy, all you need to do is send me your address. Just fill out this form here and I might just send you something special.

Write in my prayer journal. I have to do this for six months, and I have one month down so I’m doing this one again.

Write my blood sugars down everyday. I have been using the Blood Wise iPhone app for the last month, so hopefully it should be easy to keep going.

Eat vegetarian for one week. I wasn’t able to get this done in January so I’m going to give it another go this month.

Donate to the National MS Society. March 8-14 is National MS Week and I have been donating for the last three years. My cousin has MS and has had it for about ten years or so. We’re not close (he’s actually my dad’s cousin’s son) but I think it’s important to donate to causes that affect the people I care about, even if it’s not something that directly impacts my life. I met a woman with MS at Robert Rummel-Hudson’s book party in New York City a couple of years ago, and MS and diabetes actually have a lot of parallels in how it can affect the body.

5 Comments
  1. March 1, 2010 10:34 AM

    Wow, I need to be better about flossing too!! Can I piggy back on your goal? But in all seriousness, it sounds like things are going well. I am always impressed by how technology continues to change our lives, like with you using the Blood Wise app. Maybe there’s a flossing one? Or a teeth cleaning one that has a singing timer for the full 2 minutes you’re supposed to brush! Hmm, I might need to look into that.

    Good luck with this month!

    • March 1, 2010 10:46 AM

      If there isn’t a flossing iPhone app, maybe we could create one! A singing timer would be pretty awesome too. I certainly don’t brush for a full minutes. Let me know what you find out!

  2. March 1, 2010 10:39 AM

    I completely forgot that today is the beginning of a new month. What happened to February?!

    I get a total fail on the flossing front. Perhaps something I should work on in March.

    Good luck with your new goals!

    • March 1, 2010 10:46 AM

      Well, it was a short month… maybe it was that? It is crazy that it’s March already, but I’m excited. Warmer weather is almost here!

  3. March 2, 2010 10:04 AM

    Good thing you’ve met almost your goal last month. Goodluck to you this month. I’m sure your gonna make it. 🙂

Comments are closed.