Skip to content

Things That Make Me Happy: #36-39

February 18, 2010

#36: Ballet

This weekend, Erik and I attended a performance of Swan Lake at the NYC Ballet. It was lovely, and we had great seats thanks to a discount program I’m a member of. In college, I started taking ballet through the dance school, and while I was never good I certainly enjoyed it! I’ve been taking ballet classes periodically here in New York City and it was fun to watch the professional dancers do the steps that I’m just learning (again) in class. If you have a chance to go to a performance, I highly suggest it! It was beautiful!

#37: Days off from work

President’s Day was this last weekend and I had a day off of work. Now that I’m a working woman and no longer privvy to three months off of school, getting a single day off of work is joyous. We didn’t go anywhere for the weekend, and instead enjoyed our newfound membership to the American Museum of Natural History. We saw a planetarium show about stars and space, hosted by Guinan Whoopi Goldberg.😉 I’m a bit of a nerd.

#38: Facebook

I’ve written about my love for email and Twitter. Now, it’s Facebook’s turn. I’ve been on Facebook for over five years now and I still love it, even if “grown ups” are allowed on it now. It’s been such a fun and easy way to keep in touch with all my friends from high school and college, and I really don’t know what I would do without it! I probably wouldn’t have very many friends. I would never leave Facebook. Facebook would have to shut down for me to leave.

#39: Blogger Gift Exchanges

I have had so much fun hosting the DOC Secret Santa Gift Exchange, and this year I joined Ashley’s Blogger Valentine to extend the fun! My Valentine was Vanessa, a writer from Philadelphia, so I bought her my favorite book on writing, Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg. I was the Valentine for Jamie, blogger extraordinaire from Chicago. She sent me a lovely scarf, some chocolates and lip smackers. With my addiction to chapstick and chocolate, and cold Northeastern winters, it’s like she knows me! Oh wait… she does! Yay for Jamie!

The lighting in the bathroom wasn’t the greatest, so here’s a close-up to show it’s true teal color.

7 Comments
  1. February 18, 2010 1:35 PM

    I’m seriously obsessed with the scarf’s color. I might need to buy one for myself now.

  2. February 18, 2010 1:48 PM

    I have that scarf! Or one very, very close to it!

  3. February 18, 2010 2:22 PM

    I’ve always wanted to see a ballet. And take ballet lessons. Perhaps one day.

  4. February 18, 2010 7:46 PM

    i always love reading these posts…it puts a little happy in my day when i think of things that make me happy…

  5. February 18, 2010 7:48 PM

    What a great scarf! That is my color for this year–teal/turquoise. Fabulous!

  6. February 19, 2010 9:26 AM

    Facebook will forever have a soft spot in my heart because it’s how David and I got back together after 5 years of being apart!🙂

  7. February 20, 2010 8:03 AM

    Very cute scraf! My bathroom pic never turns out that good.

Comments are closed.