Skip to content

Things That Make Me Happy: #34 and #35

February 11, 2010

#34: Snow Days

People are always surprised when I tell them that Oregon doesn’t get much snow. I think it’s because they think of Oregon as having a lot of precipitation, which it does. But that’s it: it rains. It rains and rains and rains and really doesn’t snow very often. Albeit there are some exceptions, such as the storm of 2008, where it snowed, then froze, then snowed again, which froze, and then snowed AGAIN. The storm nearly stranded me at the Seattle airport for Christmas because they actually shut down the freeway between Seattle and Portland because of avalanches. Oh yeah. When we do snow, we go big. Anyway, this meant that we never really had snow days as a kid. It would sometimes snow at night, and overnight, so we would wake up with an inch or so of snow, but usually by 10 or 11 o’clock everything would be back to normal, so there was never really a reason to shut down the school. But when we were able to get a snow day, man, it was like Mission: Impossible success!

Yesterday, the Northeast faced the snowpocalypse (as opposed to snowmageddon, which was over the weekend), and our office, along with pretty much the rest of the tristate area, closed. I still had to work, but I got to work from the comfort of my couch in my pajamas. It was glorious indeed.

#35: Flowers from my boyfriend

Not only does my boyfriend remember Valentine’s Day, he remembers it early. Early enough that I’ll get to enjoy my Valentine’s Day flowers at work for a couple of days before the weekend. And they are my favorite colors: purple and pink.

7 Comments
  1. February 11, 2010 10:19 AM

    Aw, so sweet! I love surprise flowers🙂

  2. February 11, 2010 11:01 AM

    Yay flowers!🙂
    Snow….ah snow. We are getting it here too. Not nearly as bad of course. But we’ve had more snow this year than I think I’ve seen in the past 4 or 5 years put together! It’s crazy.

  3. February 11, 2010 1:25 PM

    those are very pretty flowers!!!

    im actually not a huge fan of roses…i think they’re overplayed. stargazer lilies are my fav, but tulips are a close second…

    • February 11, 2010 1:38 PM

      I’m not a fan of roses either, for that exact reason. I’ve instructed Erik not to buy them for me. Stargazer lilies are also my favorite, and he bought them for me last year for Valentine’s Day, but they are very, VERY fragrant so you can only do them in small quantities (like one or two mixed in with others).

  4. February 11, 2010 3:09 PM

    Love the flowers! So pretty!

    There’s NO snow in Kamloops right now. Which is weird for this time of year. Really weird. Oh well, I’m headed to FSJ next week where there is LOTS of snow! Haha

  5. February 11, 2010 10:19 PM

    Those flowers are beautiful! Unexpected flowers are the best. I got flowers from my friend for my birthday & they are still alive! My place smells so wonderful, it’s making me want to buy fresh flowers more often!

  6. February 15, 2010 7:03 PM

    Oh sweet! Surprise flowers are the best- I’m usually the one who surprises Mister, it makes me all kinds of proud =)

    And I would love a snow day here and there but we just don’t seem to get them! It’s so cold here that it doesn’t snow much at all, so while there are days that it’s advised you stay inside because of the wind chill, there isn’t a lot in the way of missed work or school.

Comments are closed.