Skip to content

Mama Allison’s Pizzeria

February 9, 2010

Ever since I was a little kid, I loved pizza. I loved all kinds of pizza, from Hawaiian to Meat Lover’s to vegetarian. There really wasn’t a pizza I would turn down. My childhood friends will tell you that I had a very peculiar way of eating my pizza, however. First I would take off all the veggies and eat them, bit by bit. Then I would take off the pepperonis individually and eat them. Then I would scrape off the cheese with my teeth and eat that (yeah, I know, it sounds gross but when you’re seven-years-old, it tastes good). And THEN I would eat the crust. By itself. Because I’m weird.

One of my favorite pizzas was the kind that my dad would make. Good old-fashioned homemade pizza. Well, as homemade as  you could get when all the ingredients come with food labels. Homemade pizza isn’t exactly the most economical of homemade food, however, but it certainly is tasty. Of course, when you factor in the sheer amount of grease used on most New York City pizza pies, you’re probably doing yourself a favor by spending twice as much to do it at home. Plus, think of all the leftover ingredients  you’ll have to make things like omelettes.

The first thing I ever cooked for Erik was actually a homemade pizza. I was craving some carbs and instead of going out and buying a pie, I decided to make it myself. But I have my own special way of making pizza, so if I owned a pizzeria, this is what I would do.

First off, you start with a Boboli crust. You can find it in the bread section of most grocery stores. We used whole wheat, because it’s better for you. I also pick up a pack of pepperoni, a bag of pre-shredded mozzarella cheese (saves time), Ragu pizza tomato sauce (NOT SPAGHETTI SAUCE – pizza sauce is different) and your choice of veggies. In this case we used mushrooms, onions and olives. You can add whatever you want, like green peppers, but this is what we used.

Chop up your veggies. Make a nice pile of it. Then take your pizza sauce and spread it around the pizza crust. My dad had a brush that he used with sauces (also used it with barbecue sauce on chicken), but I find using a spoon works just as well. Make sure you don’t use too much sauce, though, or it’ll end up dripping all over you when you sit down to eat.

Next, I take the pack of pepperoni and I lay out slices starting on the outside and working my way in. I try to cover up as much as I can. Then I take the mozarella cheese and I sprinkle a significant amount over the pepperoni. After, I take more pepperoni and more cheese and make a second layer, only this time I start a little further in from the edge and I use a bit less cheese.

Next comes the veggies. These can really go on in any particular order I suppose, but I started with the onions to give it a nice base, then mushrooms, followed by the olives.

Then we add more cheese! I like cheese, can you tell? You don’t need to use too much at the end. This is more for a decorative touch. You could even skip it.

Boboli pizzas are great in that they are fast. I popped the pizza directly onto the rack – it has a better crisping effect – and waited approximately ten minutes.

And voila!  We sliced the pizza up into 8 slices, which given the size of the pizza we used (a medium) came out to 16.5 grams of carbs. Add a few more for the tomato sauce and you should be good to go. Of course, this doesn’t account of the calories one consumes when eating a pizza, but that is neither here nor there.

Then comes the eating part, a method entirely up to you. You could do as I do, and eat it with your hands (don’t worry, I don’t take the toppings off layer-by-layer anymore) or you can do as Erik does and use a fork.

Weirdo…

If you had a blank Boboli pizza, what would you put on it? And who should win the battle of the pizza eating: the fork-eaters or the hand-eaters?

20 Comments
  1. February 9, 2010 10:20 AM

    Boboli is by FAR the best premade crust. Hell, it’s better then Domino’s or Papa John’s or any of the chains, too!

    • February 9, 2010 11:33 AM

      I agree. This was my first time using whole wheat pizza, but it was very tasty. I think I’ll order all my pizza crusts on wheat from now on.

  2. Cynthia permalink
    February 9, 2010 12:00 PM

    Hand-eaters would win. Hands down!

  3. February 9, 2010 12:51 PM

    I usually use a fork, especially when I’m eating pizza at a restaurant, since the pieces are usually so big. Boboli crust is good when I’m in a pinch, but I LOVE the garlic and herb dough from Trader Joe’s, and for 99cents, you can’t beat the price! I usually make thin-crust pizza and one dough will make 2 pizzas!! As for toppings, I usually put whatever I have – my favorite sauce is italian herb tomato paste, feta cheese and lotsa veggies!

  4. tmana permalink
    February 9, 2010 12:52 PM

    In general, it depends on the type of pizza. New York style thin crust is a hand-eater, as is Sicilian-style (1.5″ high crust). Chicago style (deep dish) has too much stuff in it for it to be hand-eatable; it needs a fork and knife. It comes closer to the generic meaning of pizza: pie. (Example: “pizza rustica” is the Italian version of Quiche Lorraine.) Then again, I’ve had what I’ve heard called “Neopolitan” style, which has a soft, very thin crust and lots of sauce, and you can’t pick it up in your hand (it’ll fall apart), so you have to use a fork and knife (and for the rest of the world it looks just like New York pizza), and I’ve piled so many veggies on a home-made pizza that the crust would not hold the weight of everything on it, so at least parts of it had to be eaten with fork and knife.

    Preferences: I’m definitely for the whole-wheat crust. Lately I’ve been lazy and using those large whole-wheat pita flat-breads as a base, and seasoning canned tomato sauce (no-salt-added). I don’t generally mix meat with milk, so I don’t do barbecue chicken pizzas; what’s more, I don’t eat pork, so pepperoni, sausage, and Italian meatballs are all off the menu. I do like lots of veggies, though (onion, broccoli, bell pepper, jalapeno pepper, tomatoes), and pineapple; also, a touch of parmesan at the base and top for browning. At home I use part-skim or fat-free mozzarella.

    • February 9, 2010 12:56 PM

      I think that’s probably why I started taking off toppings when I was a kid… because of the weight. I’d probably do that now, too. Just scrape a layer or so off if I can, and then eat it normally. Even with big slices, I tend to eat it with my hands – I just fold it over!

  5. February 9, 2010 1:12 PM

    I always pulled the cheese and toppings off my pizza when I was a kid, too. I would eat the crust first and save the “good part” – the cheese and toppings – for last.

    When I make pizza at home, I typically use a tortilla shell for the crust. It reduces the number of carbs and really helps with that blasted “pizza effect” on my BGs.

    Incidentally, I also found a frozen pizza that does not wreak havoc on my BG … it’s Tombstone original style. And it tastes pretty good, too.

    • February 9, 2010 1:16 PM

      See, the crust was my favorite part of the pizza and I always wanted to eat it by itself, not tainted by the toppings. That’s too funny!

  6. Ellen permalink
    February 9, 2010 1:22 PM

    It’s always fun when it’s permissible to eat with hands. (Love Ethiopian food, and Middle Eastern food too for that reason as well.)

    • February 9, 2010 1:27 PM

      Oh, I looooove Ethiopian food, and yes, eating with hands is fun!

  7. February 9, 2010 2:42 PM

    I LOVE pizza. Homemade pizza is the best. My favs are ham and pineapple and veggie pizza. I always eat it with my HANDS!🙂

  8. February 9, 2010 4:19 PM

    So, the way seven year old you eats pizza? Is how I eat pizza now. At 26. 🙂

  9. Lili permalink
    February 9, 2010 5:22 PM

    Don’t really like Boboli crust – I’d rather make my own. Since I’ve been gf, I haven’t found an edible premade crust *or* recipe, so kind of tough on the pizza front. Sometimes we go to a pizza place and I just get a vat of cheese. Afraid that crust or not, I always use a fork.😉

  10. Mel permalink
    February 9, 2010 7:25 PM

    I almost always use a fork, unless one isn’t available. I hate eating with my hands, because I don’t like them to get messy!

    I always use these little balls of pizza dough. I think they only cost $1 or something, so it’s really cheap. After rolling it out, I brush it lightly with olive oil (so the crust doesn’t get soggy at all) and crush a garlic clove and brush that on too. Then I put a little bit of sauce and cheese. If I have pepperoni in the house, that’s my preference. Otherwise I just make cheese pizza at home.

  11. February 9, 2010 10:59 PM

    This looks SO fancy and delicious. Now I’m hungry. I legit can’t cook for shit.

  12. February 9, 2010 11:09 PM

    Beef, bacon, cheese and extra sauce:) I eat pizza with my hands at home.

  13. February 9, 2010 11:40 PM

    I actually made my own pizza crust – from 1/2 cup of cornmeal of all things (never bought prepared pizza crust – I’m kind of anal about making my own things from scratch). It is about 20 grams of carbs tho’ a slice (1/4 of the pizza) – so might be too much for some of you on low carb diets – but it’s jammed with lots of veggies (roasted in the oven). I find with the pizza I make, maybe because of the veggies maybe?, that my BG doesn’t spike like regular pizza dough (I also tend to spread my insulin doseage over a few hours rather then one big blob of insulin). The pizza tastes great reheated in the oven (nuking makes it too soggy). If you’re interested in the recipe – just let me know. I’ve shared it amongst a few PWD’s over the year. I’m always happy to share my culinary experiences😀

  14. courtney permalink
    February 10, 2010 1:37 AM

    I like the crust the best… and the cheese the least (only way I eat cheese is on pizza if overpowered by toppings–only veggies). While not a fan of cheese, I still make a go of eating the best deep dish pizza ever — Zachary’s (Berkeley-based). Re: homemade pizzas– for crust, Trader Joe’s is ok, but best pre-made pizza (add toppings only) is made by Fresh and Easy.

  15. February 10, 2010 8:40 AM

    Oh, I miss Boboli pizzas! We used to use them all the time in the UK! I like making French bread pizzas like we used to in school, cutting it lengthwise and topping it with pizza sauce, pineapple, ham and cheese and toasting the whole thing in the oven🙂

Comments are closed.