Skip to content

Things That Make Me Happy: #20-#22

January 14, 2010

You wouldn’t think it would be so hard to come up with things that make you happy. But surprisingly enough, it is. Actually, scratch that. It’s easy to think of things that make you happy when you’re in the process of being happy because of them. But remembering them when they aren’t making you happy is something else entirely. So I’ve taken to writing up a list of things as they come to me in a little black Moleskine book (which I pronounce as Mole-Skin, which I know is wrong but kinda don’t care because I think it’s funny) that Erik’s mom bought me for Christmas.

Anyway. Here’s this week’s edition of Things That Make Me Happy. These are, of course, in no particular order.

#20: Eating Out.

If you did the math and tried to compare how much money I spend on rent and how much money I spend eating out in a month, chances are the two would probably end up being neck-and-neck. I luuuurve to eat out. I love the ambiance of a great, chic restaurant. I love menus that put together flavors I would never have thought of. I love exploring a new culture through food. I love discovering something I love that I never knew about before then, like Ethiopian food. I love romantic candlelight. I love watching other people enjoy great food. I love watching people on dates (especially first dates – so awkward, yet so cute). I love that I am never bored by going out to eat.

#21: Chocolate.
There is nothing better than chocolate. I don’t even believe sex is better than chocolate, because chocolate never disappoints and you never have to return the favor with chocolate. Chocolate is always there for you. It tastes amazing. It is good in many varieties and flavors so there is something for everyone. Even people with diabetes can enjoy chocolate and anyone who says otherwise is a liar! Or just mean. You can enjoy it hot or cold, hard or creamy. It’s just so damn delicious! My favorite place to get chocolate in New York City is Max Brenner, which is by Union Square and is basically the place I take everyone when they come to town. I took my mom there. We took Erik’s mom there. We took my friend J there with her boyfriend when they visited last summer. I’ve been a half dozen times with friends. Ironically, I was introduced to this place by my friend Caitlin, who also has diabetes and who I met through a mutual friend who has diabetes. Another favorite place is Mariebelle down in Soho. They do a mean Aztec Hot Chocolate and it’s great when you’re out shopping on a cold day in January and need something to warm you up. Both these places have online stores, so don’t feel like you have to come to New York to have some.

#22: Good Conversation

Last night, I attended two meet-ups. I know, I know. I’m such a popular lady, aren’t I? One was with the NYC Type 1 Diabetes Meet-up group and the other was a meet-up hosted by my pal Katja Presnal. I always enjoy meet-ups, versus just staying online and chatting, because real life really sets the stage for good, intimate conversations with someone about something that relates to just the two of you. There’s a bond that is shared when you have good conversation with someone, revelations that are made, you learn something, you think about something in a new way or you’re able to help someone else learn something for the first time. I really get excited by those productive conversations where you leave feeling like it really meant something important, not just some small talk that both of you will forget before you get in your car.

To see the other 19 things that make me happy, click here!

6 Comments
  1. January 14, 2010 11:34 AM

    I love to eat out too! I’ve never tried Ethipoan (sp) food before, adding to my to do list. I love Indian and Greek food! Chocolate. I can do without. I’m not a fan of it.
    Two meet ups in 1 day?!? You go girl!

    • January 14, 2010 11:56 AM

      Ethiopian is the best! A member of the D community actually introduced me to it and I took Caroline and her fiance to the same place when they were here last spring. It’s so much fun to eat!

  2. January 14, 2010 11:57 AM

    Right with ya on those things that make you happy. Chocolate with a good conversation and a coffee on the side? Nothing gets better than that..

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  3. January 14, 2010 2:19 PM

    i love this series! and it’s so true., it’s really hard to think of things that make you happy until you’re actually doing them.

    i eat out a lot and sometimes it makes me happy but a lot of the times i’m also thinking it makes me fat, which thus does not make me happy : P
    however, when i eat something i really really like, i totally do a little dance in my chair bc i’m so happy. so there you have it!

  4. January 14, 2010 11:19 PM

    I whole-heartedly agree with your list. 🙂

    You will def have to let Amber & I know what all we should take in while we are in Portland!! Can’t wait to visit your home city!

  5. January 15, 2010 9:43 AM

    Oh, I love Ethiopian food too!! There used to be this place here in the city where you couldn’t actually eat with a knife and fork and HAD to scoop everything up by that flat bread type stuff, and it was SO good and such fun. I never thought about going out to eat as a people-watching experience but now you’ve put it that way, I’m kind of looking forward to going out on Valentine’s Day this year and seeing all sorts of new couples🙂

Comments are closed.