Skip to content

Plodding My Way Through the Goals.

January 6, 2010

Last night, I worked out for the first time at New York Sports Club since AUGUST of last year.

AUGUST.

Do you have any idea how incredibly long that is? Do you have any idea how out of shape I am now? I was already out of shape at the end of last summer (my Ride to Cure Diabetes notwithstanding) but with my move to New York City, my finances took a bit of a hit (hi, it’s REALLY EXPENSIVE here) so I decided to put my workout regime on a little fall hiatus.

BIG MISTAKE.

Now I am suffering through my insolence as I trek back to NYSC. Luckily, it’s New Years so I’m not the only out-of-shape flabby person there. In fact, there are so many of us we could probably start a club! My goal for this month, as I said last week, is to work out four times a week for the whole month. Since the month started on a Friday, my weeks are Friday thru Thursday. On Saturday, Erik and I visited his gym near where he lives, and then on Sunday, I took a ballet class, and then today, back at the gym! The plan is to go again on Thursday, and then start the process all over again next week.

And again, and again, and again. Rinse and repeat.

Being back at the gym actually made me feel pretty good, which was nice. I didn’t push myself too hard, and I like knowing that the tight feeling in my legs are from my muscles doing what they are meant to be doing. The exercise is doing wonders for my blood sugars too, so it’s a win-win on all fronts, weight and diabetes (and some would say the two are interconnected to the Nth degree).

My dream is that I DON’T GIVE UP! NEVER SURRENDER! And that I am able to make it through this month, and next month, and can cross yet another item off my 101 Things list, which is slowly but surely going to get completed.

In fact, this Saturday, Erik and I are trekking down to one of the New York Blood Center clinics to donate blood, yet another item on my to do list.

How’s the first week of the New Year treating you?

9 Comments
  1. January 6, 2010 11:21 AM

    That’s awesome! We’re working on getting in shape too. My wife and I have joined the Biggest Loser – Pound for Pound challenge. Feel free to check it out on our blog.

    • January 6, 2010 11:26 AM

      The Biggest Loser was actually on while I was at the gym. I’ve only watched parts of the show, but an at-home challenge might be interesting. I’ll check it out! Thanks.

  2. January 6, 2010 11:53 AM

    I haven’t really exercised since about September either😦 The trek up the non-working escalator in the subway station this morning gave me the reminder I needed that I need to do better. So I’m going to try too. I really am. Kudos to you for making a trip to the gym by yourself! You should give yourself a lot of credit for that🙂

    • January 6, 2010 11:59 AM

      And considering how FREEZING COLD it is outside, I am proud that I even made out my front door… The cold is so unmotivating.

  3. January 6, 2010 12:05 PM

    Good for you!! I bought a gym membership last January with every intention of going 3 times a week (it was literally 4 blocks from where I work, not hard!) but I was SO unmotivated and scared of looking like a noob who doesn’t know Gym Etiquette that I went a grand total of twice, paid for 4 months and then cancelled it lol. I’m so impressed by people who can stick to fitness resolutions – I definitely wish I had the willpower!

    • January 6, 2010 12:14 PM

      There really isn’t much to gym etiquette. Usually gyms will post if there is a time limit to machines, make sure to wipe down equipment with cleaner when you’re done, and put the dumbbells back where they belong. Gyms will usually take you on a tour too to show you how to use the equipment, which can be a little redundant but sometimes useful.

  4. Bethany permalink
    January 7, 2010 2:50 PM

    good for you! I, too, am re-committing myself to fitness. this time, my husband is doing it, too, so I have a little extra motivation. its hard, but we gotta do it! keep it up!

  5. January 7, 2010 6:41 PM

    Keep at it! Ever feel overwhelmed by the new year? There are just so many things I want to do and ideas in my head and I just don’t know how to put them all in one place (sigh).

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

    • January 7, 2010 6:49 PM

      That’s why I created my 101 Things List, and in order to complete them, I’m breaking them down into sections month-by-month. I only have 5 things I want to do this month. So that helps.

Comments are closed.