Skip to content

A Focus on Specifics: January Goals.

January 1, 2010

It’s January 1st and with that comes the usual onslaught of New Year’s Resolutions that will be dead before they even had a chance. I have been plugging away on my 101 Things List since January 1, 2008 (a whole two  years? WOW!) and I have thus far accomplished a grand total of 27 items. Kind of disappointing, huh? I have a few that are multi-step (seeing 101 movies and eating at a new restaurant every month) that are certainly well on their way to being finished, and there are a few year-long goals that have no hope of being accomplished at this point. Whoops.

If I am to finish the majority of my 101 Things List, then I need to get cracking. Instead of creating a list of New Year’s Resolutions, I’m going to spur my mission to accomplish as many of these items as I can by taking what is left and creating month-by-month goals of what I think I can finish, or at least start, in any given month. The 101 Things List is designed to span more than two years in order to facilitate the changing seasons, finances, and other timely matters that may come up. This long-term vision for the 101 Things list makes it difficult to plan out too specifically when something is going to get done, but I definitely think it’s a good idea to plan out as much as you can ahead of time. Consider this a lesson learned for next time! Now that I am in my final year  of my first list (the last day is September 28!), it’s time to go into overdrive.

I have written down several goals that I have for the month of January. At the end of the month, we will review what I set out to do and see what happened! Then, we’ll rinse and repeat.

1. Give blood.

2. Go to the gym 4 days a week, every week for this month (a week is Monday thru Sunday).

3. Eat vegetarian for one week.

4. Become a member at the New York Public Library.

5. Mail a sussy to someone. (A sussy is a surprise gift to someone for no particular reason).

Hopefully I’ll do well with these! I tried to combine a few one-time only items with a couple that will take a good portion of the month to accomplish. This way I won’t feel to overwhelmed with changes, and they are all action-oriented, time-driven goals as well.

What are your goals for this month? Or for 2010 in general?

7 Comments
  1. January 1, 2010 10:47 PM

    Hello Allison, Bravo on your list! Those are good ideas, you’re definitely an example!
    I enjoy your blog.

    Thanh

  2. January 2, 2010 12:12 PM

    i love this! writing down goals for the MONTH, it seems much less daunting then trying to keep track of an entire year! Hope you accomplish all you want this month! – Amy

  3. January 2, 2010 5:05 PM

    Love Love Love.

    I hope you are able to accomplish these goals. Just keep at em! I actually did the same thing. I have one whole wall in my room that is a chalkboard so I wrote down my goals for the month so that I could wake up and see them every day.

    This month I am hoping to become more organized, simplify my life a little by decluttering and am really hoping to get up to eight glasses of water a day. Wish me luck.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  4. January 2, 2010 5:06 PM

    Oh and P.S. welcome to my blog roll.

  5. January 3, 2010 5:41 PM

    You totally inspired me back in April to start my 101 Things List and I’m trying to knock a few things out each month too. I’ve also already realized that some of my things I’m simply not going to get to and were probably alittle too ambitious on my first try. Best of luck in 2010 with your goals!

  6. January 3, 2010 10:55 PM

    to be HEALTHY.

    dear jesus. Can I go through a month without almost dying?

  7. January 9, 2010 9:32 PM

    I love your goal of getting a library card. I absolutely swear by my library and could not live without it!🙂 Check out their online system…usually you can put books on reserve from your home and they will e-mail when it’s in!

Comments are closed.