Skip to content

This Was Good.

December 31, 2009

Earlier this year, I wrote a blog post called “Tell Me Something Good.” So far, it’s likely to be my post popular post to date, judging by the fact I still occasionally get comments on it from people who find it via Google. I was surprised, but delighted, to find out that it resonated with so many people, to know the people really like the fact that they were asked to share something good going on in their life. It helped others, who were down on their luck, to realize how much good really is going on in the world.

It’s very easy to forget the good. It’s very easy to get caught up in the family drama, the bills, the economy and politics and think that there really isn’t very much good out there in the world. When I was in college, this guy I knew asked me this question, and it was a tricky question for me to answer because college was, invariably, a dark and unhappy time for me. But yet I enjoyed the question, because it pulled me back and made me face the fact that there really was some good going on in my life, in the world, even when I was too stubborn to recognize it.

This year was a hard year for a lot of people. There was a lot of death, both personally and in the world around us. The economy continues to be difficult and I continue to be in a shitload of debt of my own creation. I have an annoying upstairs neighbor and I have pigeons outside my window who will JUST NOT SHUT UP. But I have a job! And health insurance! And a job that pays reasonably well, considering, and health insurance that does its job, adequately. I have a wonderful relationship with a boy, and many growing relationships with ladyfriends around the city. I have a family that supports me. I have great hair. I have enough money to feed myself and the opportunity to travel to new and exciting places. Life is really good.

My blog is called Lemonade Life because I believe, firmly, that when life hands you lemons, you need to make lemonade. I try to do that, everyday. And sometimes it’s very difficult, but that’s the adventure in life.

As we step forward into a new year, a new decade, I would like to take an opportunity not only to reflect on all the changes we need to make, but on the good things that have happened this year and the good things that are yet to come.

Please take a few minutes to reply to this post and tell me something good.

17 Comments
  1. December 31, 2009 11:34 AM

    I woke up this morning with my BG in range, made and ate cream currant scones without a major spike, and fixed my cappuccino maker. Last weekend my best friend treated me to an afternoon at the spa. I had 28 people at my house for Christmas and it all went smoothly and everyone had a good time.

    And I’m in the middle of two weeks vacation, relaxing and playing with my kids.

    Happy New Year Allison!

  2. Arielle permalink
    December 31, 2009 12:05 PM

    It’s snowing!

  3. December 31, 2009 12:07 PM

    I have some fantastic friends, life experiences that not everyone can claim, a decent job and fantastic health insurnace, a wonderful family, and a great God!🙂 Life is good, even when it’s hard to see it sometimes.

  4. December 31, 2009 1:35 PM

    My “virtual” friends are some of the most Truest friends I have Ever had.

    No health insurance will not stop me from Loving my job and my boss, or from anything else, for that matter.

    Great post Allison. Happy New Year to you and yours!

  5. December 31, 2009 2:24 PM

    Something good: I’ve actually written a list of goals for 2010; one of which is to make a good attempt at building a side business for my portrait photography.

  6. tmana permalink
    December 31, 2009 2:38 PM

    Having to go to the supermarket (instead of the greengrocer) for onions and mushrooms reminded me to pick up black-eyed peas for New Year’s.
    The morning snow gave me a chance to wear my snow boots (which do not do well on shoveled walks).
    The snow on the tree next door is very pretty.
    There’s hot coffee in the kitchen.
    My Christmas gifts include a digital tire gauge for my bicycle and a Pearl Izumi wind vest.

  7. December 31, 2009 3:15 PM

    I have plans tonight to go to a party with lots of great friends, and a great husband to kiss at midnight. And this weekend, I’m determined to make the chocolate chip cookies that I’ve been threatening to make for the last month🙂

    Happy New Year’s Allison!

  8. December 31, 2009 4:06 PM

    I’ll be surrounded by some of my oldest friends tonight at my house, with my husband, and very sweet pup. I think I have a great resolution for 2010 and I’m working hard to make some of my dreams come true after a really tough year at work.

    Have a fabulous New Year’s!

  9. December 31, 2009 4:09 PM

    I have to post again now because I’m so happy I’m crying. I passed my board certification exam🙂

    Best. New. Year’s. Ever.

  10. Robyn Morgen permalink
    December 31, 2009 4:10 PM

    Completed my registration for FFL 2010 yea!!!

  11. December 31, 2009 4:29 PM

    It is very good that you have decided not to say goodbye to the comments at times like this.

    Bob

    • December 31, 2009 4:42 PM

      Bob,

      I would never completely do away with comments. My point was that not all posts necessarily need comments. But I would always have some posts that invited comments from my readers. I do enjoy reading them, I just don’t always like the pressure of writing to an audience.

      Cheers,
      Allison

  12. December 31, 2009 6:13 PM

    I am no longer a Relationship Reject.

    Oh, and after I style it for 30 minutes, I also have fabulous hair.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR. Love yourself. And drink at least 3 glasses of champagne.

  13. December 31, 2009 6:33 PM

    Happy New Year! Fun post – I got my hair cut this morning in a fun, new style and that’s my good thing for the day. Have a safe and fun New Years, lady! XO

  14. December 31, 2009 9:09 PM

    I got to take a fantastic trip to Europe, met a lot of fantastic bloggers in August (including you!!) and I’m moving out of my parents house in a month! I couldn’t be more excited. Even if I don’t have a job. YET.

    Happy New Years!

  15. January 4, 2010 12:24 AM

    I love this idea. I like the idea of focusing on something good…how about Korean BBQ? That is something delicious! Or hiking at night with a full moon! That is something really fun to do! Delicious and fun are something good.
    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. On Being Sick and Young. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.