Skip to content

Transitions in Review: 2000-2009

December 30, 2009

It’s common for bloggers to do wrap-up posts of the year during the last week of 2009. But I don’t really feel like doing that this year! If you want to know what I did this year, go read the archives. There’s lots of fun stuff there. Instead, I’m going to pick up the Decade in Review meme that is floating around on some blogs I read. Although many people would say that the 21st Century didn’t start until 2001, it’s a fact that the 2000s really did start in Year 2000 and thus, 2010 starts the new decade (at least, in my mind).

Here’s what went down:

I started 2000 as a 14 year old and a freshman in high school. I was uberawkward and my high school campus was split, so it made it difficult to have friends. I didn’t really like any boys. I was a good student and a very boring teenager. I liked to spend most of my free time on the Internet (not much has changed, no?). I started the Minimed insulin pump in the summer, just before spending a weekend in Minnesota with some of my online friends. Don’t worry, my mom came with me!

2001 was a big year. I finished my sophomore year of high school in June, and the following month went to Washington D.C. to participate in Children’s Congress as a delegate from Oregon. To say it was life-changing would be an understatement. I also went to New York City for the first time and that’s when I decided I wanted to move there, and my mom and I saw Chicago on Broadway, which was my first (of many!) Broadway plays. In September, 9/11 happened. I was a junior. In October, I started CureNow, my very first website for diabetes.

By 2002, I was becoming more involved in the diabetes community. I spent my summer volunteering at the local JDRF Chapter office and speaking at companies about living with diabetes. I spent time with my friends in Portland, and in July, I got my driver’s license. My senior year, which I started in September, was definitely one of the best years. My friends were great and we were always hanging out at someone’s house or going to the movies. We had a pretty low-drama group, but just enough to keep things interesting! In November, a classmate of mine, Teddy, committed suicide and I attended his funeral with most of my classmates. It was one of the hardest days of my life. I also became host of Diabetes Station’s Teen Talk chat program, and I closed CureNow in December.

In 2003, my endocrinologist, Dr. James Hansen, passed away from cancer. I attended my senior boy with Dan, one of my best friends from diabetes camp. I graduated from high school. I won a $1,000 scholarship in community service from my high school. My mom and I traveled to France for two weeks in August. I turned 18 years old in Paris. In September, I moved to Eugene, Oregon to attend the University of Oregon. I decided I wanted to major in journalism and I never changed my major the entire time I was in school. I also joined Campus Crusade for Christ, which was a strange combination of both the best and worst thing I ever did. I lived in the dorms, and I enjoyed the freedom that came with it. In November, my high school history teacher passed away from colon cancer.

2004 started out great, with fun friendships and an active social life in the dorms. The last week of spring term, I met a boy. I moved home in the summer and visited my friend D in Philadelphia, while also making plans to move into my first apartment that fall. When I got home, I temped at a few different companies until I went back to school. Sophomore year was rough. I didn’t get along with my roommate as I had hoped, and the boy I was interested in was completely disinterested in me, making for a rocky friendship. I voted for Kerry, but he didn’t win.

The disaster of a year was 2005. I moved out of my apartment in February, and into a girl’s boarding house. The boy decided to completely stop speaking to me in March. I went into therapy in April, which lasted until August. I started Lemonade Life in July – which was probably more of an aspiration than a reality at the time. I spent the summer in Eugene, living in the boarding house and working as a nanny and at McDonalds. I turned 20 in August, and started my junior year in college, which ended up being one of the better years as I got more involved in other campus church groups. I was also mentored by a wonderful woman from my local church who was a really great friend during my junior and senior years. Diabetes Station closed its virtual doors in September, and I spent the fall preparing my new online creation.

2006 was also a rocky year, although my online life was flourishing as the blogger for Lemonade Life and the webmaster of Diabetes Teen Talk, which was featured in JDRF’s Countdown and Diabetes Health. That spring, I sold Diabetes Teen Talk to dLife, and I worked as the content producer. In the summer, I moved out of the girl’s boarding house and back to Portland to live with my parents, where I stayed through the fall. In July, I went to my first CWD Children with Diabetes conferences in Florida, and I interned at the JDRF. The Portland Program I signed up for was not all I had hoped for, and the fall ended up being unfulfilling. Living with my parents during the beginning of my senior year was a bit like going back to high school, and was probably not the smartest choice.

I moved back to Eugene in January 2007, to finish up my last term at the University of Oregon. I lived in a small studio apartment in a nearby town, and found many of my junior year friendships fading with my absence during fall term. I did not enjoy living in Eugene, and spent much of my time working on my online projects. I was looking forward to getting out. I traveled to New York City in March, where I hosted a meet-up and went on several interviews. A few weeks later, and I was offered a job at MWW Group, which I accepted. In May, my contract with dLife ended and they did not renew, so I was no longer the content producer for dLife. In June, I moved to New Jersey and lived in a suburb in Bergen County. I spent a lot of that summer and fall alone, because I had no friends. I finished up 2007 with a trip to Oregon for Christmas.

In 2008, I attended another CWD Children with Diabetes conference in Orlando, meeting a whole host of people with diabetes. I actually spent almost the entire time traveling, resulting in 4 weekends in a row not at home (did I mentioned I moved in between two of those weekends?). In September, I took my first overseas trip by myself with an adventure in England, which thus far is one of the best decisions I ever made. In November, I “met” Erik via OKCupid.com. We met in December, and started dating shortly thereafter. After my boss and co-worker left my company during the summer, I decided I wanted to explore new opportunities for myself and began the agonizing process of finding a new job. I voted for Obama, and he won.

2009 was the best year, probably, of the entire decade. Although I had a rough beginning of the year with some false starts on the job market (hello recession!), I finally found a great job in October. I also moved to New York City! Erik and I made a couple successful trips to meet our respective families during the summer, and we were both given two big thumbs up by each side! I also spent a heck of a lot of time traveling around, as I usually do, meeting lots of people and in general having a great time. But I finished up the year at home, in New York City, where I am finally happy to be.

As I write all this down, I realize that a lot happened that was not necessarily shared when it happened. My hope, for the blog at least, is to start unboxing some of these memories in the coming year. A “Lemonade Life” often more an aspiration than a reality for me, but I hope that the 2010s are less bumpy than all my transitions during high school and college. It’s not supposed to be an easy time, I suppose, but I look forward to seeing what kind of transitions and changes will come as I continue my twentysomething years and enter into my thirtysomethings.

I wonder what kind of decade I’ll be writing about on December 31, 2019.

How was your decade?

One Comment
  1. December 31, 2009 2:36 PM

    Thanks for sharing. I think you’ve come a long way in ten years and you have much to be proud of. Happy New Year!

    P.S. I love this post idea so much that I’ve “borrowed” it!

Comments are closed.