Skip to content

Imagine in Ten Years.

December 28, 2009

A lot can happen in ten years. December 31, 2009 marks the end of the first decade of the 21st century (although there is some debate, I have researched this and I believe that since people have a “Year Zero” so too can decades. 2009 was the 10th year of this decade, thus we begin anew.)

When we rang in the New Year on January 1, 2000, simple math will tell you that I was 14 years old. I was a freshman in high school. I had never had a boyfriend and I had certainly never “sexted” before. I didn’t even own a cell phone. I was a fan of the Internet, but the Internet at the time was just America Online. It was limited primarily to message boards, chatrooms and “You’ve Got Mail!”. My username was AngelWriter2003. There was no Twitter, no Facebook, and blogs were emo kids going “dude, life sucks.”

I didn’t like to talk about diabetes. I didn’t even have an insulin pump on January 1, 2000. I didn’t know many people with diabetes. I didn’t know that many people at all, actually. My high school campus was split that year because of construction. They were trying to make it bigger and better, but it was like, It’s high school, it’s going to suck. I was in my third year of French, and I liked English, and although my favorite things involved words, I wasn’t much of a talker. My World History teacher said “Um” a lot and I liked to keep track of how many times he said it in a 90 minute class. I tried to eat lunch with the popular kids, and one girl asked me if I was new to the school. I had been in school with her since kindergarten. After that, I ate my lunch alone most of the time.

At that point, I had only moved once, when I was 2 years old. I don’t really remember our old house but when I look at pictures sometimes I have faint, blurry memories like remembering a dream. It was a duplex that we affectionately called The Brown House. My parents had rented it out during my childhood, but eventually sold it.

This was before I was “internet famous.”

At 14, I wavered between wanting to be a teacher, a diabetes educator and a journalist. I kinda like to think I’m all three, actually. At 14, I didn’t really like boys, but now I am in love with a very nice one. At 14, I loved to travel, but had only been to a handful of states, but now I have been to a handful more and two European countries.

At 14, I was confused, and often lonely. I liked people who didn’t often like me back. I didn’t know what to say. At 24, sometimes I’m still confused. And I’m sometimes lonely. There are people that still don’t like me back, and I don’t know what to say to make things better. But at 24, I’m learning to accept that I don’t need everyone to like me back, but I am certain that they are totally missing out on the awesomeness that is Allison.

On December 31, 2019, I will be 34 years old. In ten years, I imagine that I will be married. I imagine that I will have at least one child, maybe two. I imagine that I will have more friends and will be making more money at something I love to do. I imagine that I will not be living in New York City because New York City is very far away from my parents and I know that my mother would want to be close to my children, if I have children at age 34.

In ten years, I imagine that I will still have diabetes. I will still be wearing an insulin pump. I will still be wearing a continuous glucose monitor. I imagine I will still be hosting meet-ups and still getting together with my friends with diabetes. I imagine that I will still be holding onto the hope for a cure, reading magazine articles and speaking with scientists and giving money to something that I hope isn’t a money pit.

In ten years, I imagine that I will still be learning, still be traveling, still be asking questions. I imagine that I will still have a family that I love, although how that family looks will probably expand and change as people grow old and people are born. In ten years, I imagine that I will be happy and loved. I imagine that I will have new teachers and new role models. I imagine in ten years that I will still be sharing what I know to anyone who bothers to sit still for a few minutes and read some words on a page.

I imagine that in ten years, I will still think I know more than I do. But I hope not.

In ten years, I imagine that I will think my life has changed greatly, but it will be very much the same, in all the wonderful ways.

3 Comments
  1. December 28, 2009 11:14 AM

    I think it seems unreal that it’s going to be 2010! And a lot can certainly change in 10 years time. I hope that the good things in your life will remain unchanged🙂

  2. tmana permalink
    December 28, 2009 11:39 AM

    Hmm. Tim Berners-Lee (sp?) invented the World Wide Web in 1992. I designed my first Web site with frames in 1996, when I was the Computer Chairperson for the 1996 STARFLEET Region 07 Conference. (I had a personal page up some time earlier, in ’94 or ’95.)

    In 1999, we were afraid that many computer programs written back in the days of two-digit year definitions, in older languages such as COBOL and running on 30-year-old mainframe computers, would do some really wonky things on certain key dates (September 9: 9/9/99 and of course January 1, 2000 1/1/00). Many people prepared for the possibility that the computer engineers who were working overtime to fix these issues would not get enough of that work done in time, and “the millenium” would plunge us back into the Dark Ages. (Much to her husband’s consternation, one of my friends stockpiled something like three months of supplies, everything from water to canned foods to sterno.) We watched New Year’s as it traversed the globe, with major celebrations and NO major blackouts or such. My fatalist friend was seriously disappointed…

  3. December 28, 2009 8:41 PM

    Nice post Allison!
    I enjoyed reading about your past and hopeful future.

Comments are closed.