Skip to content

The First Snow of the Year.

December 21, 2009

It snowed this weekend. Did ya hear? Perhaps you experienced the windchill factor of 13 degrees or were blown around by the 30 mph winds. And the 16 inches of snow in Central Park. It was quite a doozy. This is my first winter actually in New York City, so I got to experience first hand what it’s like to trudge through the snowbanks of street corners. After they have melted. Here’s a hint: Mushy.

Erik and I were lucky and we were already instead my apartment by the time the snow really started to come down last night around 8 p.m. so we woke up to a New York City Winter Wonderland – just in time to walk up to 83rd to have brunch at the Hi Line restaurant. We were meeting an old friend of Erik’s, J, who was in town visiting her sister, who lives in the Bronx. J had called to let us know she was going to be late, so I thought, “Why don’t we walk the FIFTEEN BLOCKS to the restaurant. IT’LL BE SO MUCH FUN. And WE CAN TAKE PICTURES.” Because that’s what people who own a Nikon D60 do in their free time, right?

So we slipped and skidded and stumbled our way to Amsterdam and 83rd and swore we were NEVER DOING THIS AGAIN EVER. And I, of course, took pictures. Like you do:

Snapped this pic of a boy tossing a snowball at his dad on the corner of Broadway. So funny.

73rd Street as we walked up Amsterdam. Those cars weren’t going anywhere fast.

Erik’s feet.

After a lovely brunch, in which we chatted with our Czech waiter about Slavic languages and how Astoria has good Czech restaurants if you’re in the mood, Erik, J, and I decided to do a little walk around the neighborhood and head into Central Park to take some photos. We walked down 83rd, and then strolled down Central Park West, passing by the Museum of Natural History, and we saw a very festive dinosaur out front to welcome the tourists.

The Christmasaurus.

We went into Central Park at the 77th street entrance, which is on the southern border of the Museum of Natural History. I was worried about getting my UGGs more wet then they already were, but most of the paths in the park were either completely paved or heavily packed, so they were firm to walk on, instead of the mushy sludge that was collecting on the street. We came in near the lake, which had completely frozen over. There were many people who had the same idea we had, including many tourists. We heard one French family walking around, and a couple from the Deep South asked us to take their picture. It was an absolutely gorgeous afternoon and totally worth the below freezing temperatures. Luckily, it was not very windy, so our coats, scarves and gloves kept us pretty warm.

A very bundled up Erik and Allison.

The skyline of midtown Manhattan.

After we were done taking a ton of pictures of the lake (if you’re a Facebook friend of mine, you can see the rest there. I let my Flickr account expire and I haven’t gotten around to buying a new pro account, and Christmas has eaten away at my budget), we kept walking along the path and on our way out, we passed Strawberry Fields. As in, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields. It was a nice reminder of the true meaning of the holidays – peace and harmony around the world – and a fitting end to our winter wonderland adventure in the park.

What did you do this weekend? Did you survive the snow storm?

17 Comments
  1. Tina permalink
    December 21, 2009 11:13 AM

    Beautiful shots Allison. I am glad you are enjoying the snow and the city. I think they are a pretty combo.

    • December 21, 2009 3:14 PM

      They are a pretty combo, aren’t they? I’m lucky to be here!

  2. December 21, 2009 11:18 AM

    Allison-

    beautiful pic’s! I can’t believe I haven’t seen snow fall in 3 years! It’s cool to share diabetes but beautiful to see snow through the eyes of my d-friends.

    • December 21, 2009 3:14 PM

      I didn’t grow up with a lot of snow, so it’s fun, but at the same time, I’m not at all used to it and I’m glad it melts here after a couple of days!

      • tmana permalink
        December 21, 2009 9:45 PM

        Snow does not always melt after a couple days in NYC. It sometimes just builds up black barriers to the street and knee-deep slush on the corners by the sewer gratings. You caught one of the rare days where NYC snow is actually pretty!

        • December 21, 2009 11:52 PM

          It sure isn’t pretty anymore! Even in Oregon, day old snow is pretty gross. There definitely is a lot of snow on the ground, but what I meant was that the sidewalks and streets are basically “clear” – although there’s a lot of slick remains left behind in the form of sludge. In other parts of the country, *that* doesn’t even happen, so that’s what I meant when I said it “melts” in a couple of days. In the three winters I’ve experienced so far, most of the snow is out of the way after a few days.

  3. December 21, 2009 2:08 PM

    Oh those pics are lovely! I’ve never been to NY but a New York City Winter Wonderland sounds just perfect. Especially with a BALMY thirteen degrees – our winters up here are 6 months of sub zero temperatures going down to minus thirty!!🙂

    • December 21, 2009 3:07 PM

      Thanks! You should come visit – I’ll take you around!

  4. Cynthia permalink
    December 21, 2009 3:09 PM

    Aw the pictured are pretty! It was probably worth the long walk. & this weekend I was stuck in my house as 20″ of snow fell.

    • December 21, 2009 3:15 PM

      Oh noes! I was stuck in my parent’s house last year with 18″ of snow. And we lived on a very steep hill. It was a nightmare. I’m so glad Manhattan is flat and easy to get around.

  5. December 21, 2009 4:41 PM

    That is a winter wonderland. We didn’t get near as much snow. But it was nice. I saw on twitter where you said “I really hate it when people waste my time.” I totally agree! – mattkendrick.com

  6. December 21, 2009 8:19 PM

    I always loved NYC in the *new* snow. 3 Day Old New York snow is disgusting. And usually full of dog crap.

    • December 21, 2009 11:50 PM

      Yes, agreed. Or slimey and gross and threatening to bring me down with every step…

  7. December 21, 2009 11:17 PM

    That is A LOT of snow to get all at once, even for me up here in Northern, snowy, COLD Canda🙂 Looks like a fun weekend, though. I love snow!

    • December 21, 2009 11:52 PM

      I’m not a huge fan of it, but it was quite lovely on Sunday so I tried to enjoy it as much as I could.

  8. December 23, 2009 10:57 AM

    So nice! I never get to see the Upper West Side since I live in Queens and work in Chelsea – I just never make it up there! So thanks for sharing : )

  9. December 24, 2009 2:22 AM

    Your pictures are seriously amazing! The snow looks gorgeous in the city (although I’m sure within a few hours of the storm, most of it was black). I was definitely snowed in my house, but it was super relaxing!

Comments are closed.