Skip to content

Things That Make Me Happy Thursday: #14 and #15

December 17, 2009

#14: Christmas Lights!:

Yay! Sparkly pretty things making everything look shiny and awesome during the dark, drab winter season. Christmas lights, whether on houses, trees or Manhattan skyscrapers totally make my day and I think they are lovely. I can’t wait until I have my own house (or at least an apartment with a balcony) where I can string some shiny happiness of my own!

Here are some pics of Rockefeller Center’s Christmas lights that I took a couple years ago:

Rockefeller Center

The ice skating rink.

My camera was so cold that the shutter wouldn’t open all the way. I still like the effect though!

#15: Blue Skies:

As much as I loved growing up in Oregon, one thing I did not enjoy was the near-constant six months of rain between November and March (and sometimes even later). It’s really grating to constantly look like a wet rat and it was on my top five things of reasons why I wanted to leave the state. Not that New York doesn’t have rain. In fact, here we have rain all year long – thanks to thunderstorms – but things are more evenly spaced around rather than being hounded by raindrops every day. Today, there was a bright blue sky outside my window at work and just seeing the color made me so happy. There’s a reason why the PNW has so many cases of Seasonal Affective Disorder! Blue skies make me very, very happy. Even if it is 20 degrees outside.

::cries::

4 Comments
  1. December 18, 2009 12:19 PM

    I’ve considered looking for jobs in the PNW, but I think I’d end up so depressed, I wouldn’t even be able to maintain a job. I have enough issues keeping my depression managed without constant dreary weather. I don’t have an actual case of SAD since my depression has to be treated year-round, but I definitely get more blue during the winter. I need the sun and the bright blue sky as often as I can get it. Even though I hate the cold, no matter what the temp, a bright sunny day can totally lift my spirits.

    The lights in NYC are beautiful! Sorry I didn’t have an opportunity to catch them this year, but glad I got to see them last year. I really like that top photo🙂

    • December 18, 2009 12:45 PM

      The Christmas lights are up through, I believe, January 3. So you can still come up to NYC and check them out!🙂

  2. December 18, 2009 8:25 PM

    Those Christmas light photos are to die for!!!!

  3. December 24, 2009 2:23 AM

    Christmas lights make me so happy. When Christmas ends, I always wish that everyone would just leave their lights up, or that another holiday would require bright lights! It just makes a neighborhood like so much cuter and nicer.

Comments are closed.