Skip to content

The City Lights are Shining Bright!

December 15, 2009

Since this is my first Christmas holiday not going home to Oregon, I decided that I needed to make it extra festive, so I convinced Erik to come with me to see Radio City Christmas Spectacular. It was actually down to seeing the Christmas Spectactular or the Nutcracker, but in order to really see ballet, you have to sit pretty close and good tickets to see the Nutcracker were a little out of our price range. I also had never seen the Radio City Christmas Spectacular – starring the Rockettes – and I was really excited to see something unique to the New York holiday experience.

The Christmas Spectacular was amazing. I could not have asked for a better show. The bright lights, the colors, the dancing, the music. It really was spectacular. If you’re ever in New York and want to see something truly New York at the holidays, I encourage you to get thee to the ticket office and see the Radio City Christmas Spectacular!

After we were finished, we decided that since we were in the neighborhood, we would go visit the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree and see the Christmas lights. It was freezing outside, and it was very late, so we didn’t have much time to snap pictures before they turned out all the lights (they turn off the lights around 11:30 p.m., fyi!).

In front of Radio City Music Hall!

In front of the Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree!

The lights on the side of Saks Fifth Avenue.

At the ice skating rink at Rockefeller Center.

It’s such a beautiful time of year with all the colorful Christmas lights! I hope you’re getting out and enjoying some of the holiday cheer in your neighborhood. Happy holidays!

7 Comments
  1. December 15, 2009 1:44 PM

    Nice! I can’t wait to see it all when I get out there on Christmas Day for the Christmas Spectacular show!

  2. December 15, 2009 2:59 PM

    Hey! I see my hotel behind you guys in the first picture. Seriously!🙂 We were right next to Radio City Music Hall. It was so cool.

    • December 15, 2009 3:03 PM

      I work across the street from Radio City Christmas Spectacular. We’re facing it in the picture (so it’s behind the woman who took the picture).

  3. December 15, 2009 6:25 PM

    I love the pictures Allison! My Dad was just in New York, that must be beautiful around Christmas time!!!🙂

    Talk to you soon!
    -Mollie

  4. Tina permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:39 PM

    I am so glad you enjoyed the show. I haven’t seen it in years. Like most native NYers, I forget how great it can be here. Tomorrow I am taking my nephew to Wintuk and to see the tree though. In my 36 years I have gone to see the tree maybe, 10 times. Time for change. The little ones help me to remember the magic of the season.

    • December 15, 2009 9:05 PM

      I saw Wintuk last Christmas and I had a wonderful time! You’ll love it. I think I go out of my way to not be like a “native” New Yorker because I know I won’t always live here and that encourages me to go out and do as much as I can. I mean, I probably won’t move for a few more years, but still. Have a great time!

Comments are closed.