Skip to content

Thing That Makes Me Happy #13: My Boyfriend.

December 14, 2009

It’s fitting that my 13th thing that makes me happy is my boyfriend because yesterday, on December 13, we celebrated our 1 year anniversary! It’s incredible to me that we’re at one year already, and yet it feels like so much longer at the same time.

I don’t usually like to get too mushy on my blog (especially since both sets of parents read my blog and that can get weird…), but some reasons my boyfriend makes me happy include: when he buys me flowers, when he laughs at my jokes even when they are way stupid, when we make dinner together instead of going out to eat, when he comes with me to my diabetes meet-up dinners, when we drive around upstate New York, when we go on roadtrips, and when watch movies together (which is good, because I watch a lot), when he humors me when I’m being a little crazy, and that he wants to do the Ride to Cure Diabetes with me next year.

It seems like yesterday that I was blogging about how no one loves me, and here I am, just a short while later, in love and loved by a very special man who sees me as me.

Which is always how I like to be thought of.

10 Comments
  1. December 14, 2009 1:17 PM

    Aw. How sweet.🙂 Congrats to you and Erik.

  2. tmana permalink
    December 14, 2009 3:51 PM

    Definitely a winner!

  3. December 14, 2009 4:32 PM

    So cute. Support from your significant other is basically the most important thing.

    Besides them being hot.

  4. December 15, 2009 1:03 AM

    Cute! Love the photo.

    Happy Anniversary!

  5. December 15, 2009 1:45 PM

    How sweet! My boyfriend’s and mine anniversary was Nov. 25 — but that’s of the day we met and we choose to celebrate that one. Our technical anniversary is nearby yours: Dec. : )

    • December 15, 2009 1:48 PM

      Katie: December 13 is actually the anniversary of our first date. We decided to be “official” just one week later, on December 19. We figured since the two are so close, might as well just go with the first since we weren’t seeing anyone else during that week. LOL. I think your anniversary date should be whatever holds a special place as the “beginning” of something, whether it was the beginning of knowing each other or the beginning of dating or the beginning of being exclusive. Relationships are not just stop and go… it’s a process!

Trackbacks

  1. How New Boy Became The Boy. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.