Skip to content

A Quick Trip.

December 8, 2009

One of the perks of living on the East Coast – as opposed to the far distant West – is the relative ease of moving between major metropolitan areas. When I first moved here, I was shocked at the amount of people who had not a clue as to how far the major cities of the West Coast are. I found out that K, a friend of mine from high school was visiting Washington D.C. on a business trip. I asked her how long she was going to be there for. When she told me, she asked, “Do you live close?”

Well….

Sort of?

Washington D.C. is a four hour drive from New York City, but Erik and I weren’t really interested in a long car trip full of gas stations and expensive tolls. I had heard about Bolt Bus from my friend J who had used to it to visit me over the summer and how inexpensive it is. So I hopped online and found a great deal that would bring Erik and I down to D.C. for $38 per person. Who could ask for a better deal? After consulting with my wise council of advisers (aka Twitter and Facebook), I picked Hotel Lombardy, which had a great deal for a room for only $100.

Although our weekend getaway originally was meant just to see K, we ended up seeing a few people and doing a ton! After checking into our hotel and grabbing some grub from a dive bar near George Washington University, we meandered up to Dupont Circle in the freezing cold. Seriously, I forgot how cold the East Coast can get – especially when it’s snowing! We met up with a friend of Erik’s from college, and then afterward headed to Union Station to meet up with K.

While we waited for K, we snapped some shots of the beautiful Christmas Tree.

After dinner at an Indian restaurant on Massachusetts Ave, not too far from Union Station, we meandered – again in the freezing cold because we’re idiots like that – along the Mall, passing the Capitol (so beautiful!), the Smithsonian museums, the Washington Monument (which looks like an evil monster because of the red anti-airplane lights shining from the top), and the National Christmas Tree and White House.

Please note that the National Christmas tree is lop-sided.

On Sunday, we met another of Erik’s friends who had recently moved to the D.C. area back in Dupont Circle for brunch. Dupont Circle is one of the cutest neighborhood’s and I really should spend more time there, but it was SO COLD that we really could barely stay out. We did walk around Embassy Row, taking pictures of the embassies of Turkey, Ireland and the ENORMOUS Greek embassy that spanned four buildings!

Once we were on our own, we went to the Holocaust Museum which isn’t exactly the most uplifting of museums, but considering Hanukkah starts next week, I thought it was an appropriate time to remember the past.

Our trek back to New York City was uneventful, but we managed to make it back half an hour early. We really had a lovely time in D.C. and hopefully will make it back down in the next couple of months, possibly even to throw one of my famous DOC meet-ups! Thanks again to all my Twitter and FB friends who helped with some of the arrangements!


One Comment
  1. December 8, 2009 9:49 PM

    The next time you visit DC, you should check out the Spy Museum. It’s one of the coolest museums in DC:

    http://www.spymuseum.org/

    I lived in Georgetown for several years, so if you’re ever looking for some other recommendations, drop me a line.

Comments are closed.