Skip to content

About Us.

November 20, 2009

I haven’t written too much about Erik and I as a couple. I rarely write about my relationships in general, mostly because I don’t want to offend anyone since this is a VERY public blog and I’m more comfortable just talking about me, myself and I. I can talk about myself ’til the cows come home, but I’m a little quieter when it comes to others. Even though Erik reads my blog and is comfortable, thus far, with what I’ve written, I don’t want to push any boundaries. However, I found this cute meme on Amber’s blog (who’s boyfriend has the same name, albeit a different spelling) and it doesn’t ask any ridiculously personal questions, so I think it’s safe. We’re also coming up on our 1 (!) year anniversary in about three weeks, so I figured, it’s time you learn a little bit more about us.

Our first picture together

Our first picture together

What are your middle names?
Mine is Michelle, Erik’s is Lee.

How long have you been together?
Since December 13, 2008, so almost a year.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
We met online, so we “knew” each other online for about a month before we were “official.”

Who asked whom out?
Erik started the message exchange on OKCupid and he was the one who asked me to meet in person.

How old are each of you?
I’m 24 and Erik just had his 26th birthday on Halloween.

At a wedding in Minnesota

At a wedding in Minnesota

Whose siblings do you see the most?
Erik has a half-sister who lives in Westchester, who we have seen both here and also at a family wedding in June. We’ve only seen my brother one time since we started dating.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
We live 30 miles away from each other, which doesn’t *seem* that bad, but when you factor in the inconvenience of parking in Manhattan, the cost of gas and bridge tolls, and the cost of train tickets, it adds up. It doesn’t look like a long distance relationship, since we see each other every weekend, and at least once during the week. But it sure feels like it sometimes.

Did you go to the same school?
Nope. We were both out of school when we started dating.

Are you from the same home town?
Hardly. Erik grew up in Minnesota, near the Twin Cities, and I’m from a suburb of Portland, Oregon.

Who is smarter?
That’s tough to say. I’d say it’s about even, actually. But he went to a better school than I did (Wheaton College in Illinois) and I went to a state school (a good one, but still), and he also went to grad school and got his masters in Volcanology, while I went straight to work. Not that school necessarily makes you smarter, that’s just our academic history.

Who is the most sensitive?
I think we’re about even. We are sensitive about our own particular issues, though.

Multnomah Falls, Oregon in August 2009

Multnomah Falls, Oregon

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
We rarely eat out at the same place twice, but that’s because I live in Manhattan and there’s so many places to choose from! But when I’m up with him, there is a breakfast place that we go to quite often. Cheap and yummy, but always sends my blood sugars for a spin.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Portland, Oregon, to visit my family. 3,000ish miles.

Who has the craziest exes?
Neither of us. We both did not do much dating before we dated each other.

Who has the worst temper?
I probably get upset more often over little things, but when he gets upset, you know it.

Who does the cooking?
We both do. I cook at my place, he cooks at his place. But he always washes the dishes.

Who is the neat-freak?
Neither of us are neat-freaks (hahahahaha), but he is probably more overall cleaner than me. Usually…

Who is more stubborn?
He would probably say me, but I think I’m more particular than stubborn. I just like things a certain way.

Who hogs the bed?
Definitely me. I have weird sleeping positions that do not accommodate another person very well. Let’s just say we suffered some sleepless nights in my double bed at the beginning, but things are usually fine at his place since he has a queen.

Who wakes up earlier?
I think we usually wake up at the same time. I don’t remember a single time that one of us kept sleeping past the other.

Where was your first date?
Brick Lane Curry House in the East Village. And then we went to Times Square to watch Nothing Like the Holidays.

Who is more jealous?
Neither of us.

How long did it take to get serious?
I don’t know… what does “serious” mean? We were “Facebook official” after a week.

Who eats more?
Erik eats more in one meal, I think, but I probably ask to go get a snack more often.

Who does the laundry?
We don’t live together, so we do our own laundry. Even if we did live together, he’d be doing is own laundry. He’s a big boy!

Who’s better with the computer?
I have no idea. I’m better on the Internet, but as far as actual hardware, probably Erik.

Who drives when you are together?
Well Erik is the only one with a car, so usually him. But when I had my car, it was still mostly him. I occasionally drive, though, when he is tired of it. I drove most of the way to Newport, for instance.

Now it’s your turn!

3 Comments
  1. tmana permalink
    November 20, 2009 5:44 PM

    I so hear you about the “long distance” thing. The Other Half and I have been together since 1990, but I was living in Queens and he was… where we are now. A lot of long commutes by train, with large camping backpack (I don’t suitcase unless I’m traveling by car or airline), then a bunch of wardrobe split between two locations, and now, well…

  2. November 20, 2009 6:30 PM

    Thanks for playing along!

    I did notice that for each person that played along becoming “serious” was different. I judged it by when we moved in together, another girl judged it by when they said I love you. Haha, too funny!

  3. November 20, 2009 7:03 PM

    I liked reading all about you and Erik! It was fun and it’s time we knew a little bit more about him. I’m glad you both found each other!

Comments are closed.