Skip to content

“Thanks” For “Giving” Me a Meme!

November 18, 2009

There’s a Thanksgiving meme floating around these parts, so I figured I’d jump in and share my own! Gobble gobble!

1. What are the traditional favorites?

Turkey, stuffing, candied yams and marshmallows (my favorite!), and pumpkin pie.

2. What new recipes will you try this year?

I’m not trying any new recipes this year because I’m not cooking! But we’ll be visiting my boyfriend’s half-sister and her husband, so there may be new foods on the table yet.

3. What part of the meal do you never compromise?

Pumpkin pie. Last year, at my cousin’s house, they didn’t have pumpkin pie and I was distraught. So afterward, I went to my local A & P and bought a pumpkin pie for myself. I didn’t eat the whole thing in one go, of course, but it satisfied my need to pumpkin pie. I only eat it once a year and I’ll be damned if I miss out!

4. Who gets to carve the turkey?

The one who won’t cut off their arm in the process (basically anyone but me). Usually the “man of the house.”

5. Family style around the table or buffet style and everyone sits wherever there’s room?

A mix of both, mostly because our dining table never had enough room for everything. Items that were on the stove were usually left on the stove, while other things like salad, cranberry sauce and rolls were on the dining table. But there’s nothing like seeing a long dining table brimming with yummy food! I feel like that’s part of what makes Thanksgiving special and not just any regular dinner that is dished up in the kitchen.

6. How many will be at your table this year?

Five of us – me, my boyfriend, my boyfriend’s mother, his half-sister and her husband.

7. Three best pies for Thanksgiving dessert?

Pumpkin pie. Anything else is a waste of perfectly good insulin, as far as I’m concerned.

8. Cranberry sauce… yay or nay?

YAY! Luuurve cranberry sauce of any kind. 

9. What time do you eat Thanksgiving Dinner?

Dinnertime? Is this a trick question?

10. Favorite leftover?

I don’t usually like leftovers, actually. They never taste as good as the original meal, so I’m always left feeling disappointed (it’s also why I never make big meals to have leftovers for lunch – I just don’t like leftovers!). But pumpkin pie usually tastes the same, since you’re not reheating it, so I’ll go with that.

 

4 Comments
  1. November 18, 2009 4:50 PM

    So I get that you like Pumpkin pie, then.😉

  2. November 19, 2009 10:36 PM

    I TOTALLY agree with the pumpkin pie…its not thanksgiving without it, luckily my family agrees with me!!

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Meme « Randomly capitalizeD

Comments are closed.