Skip to content

Happy World Diabetes Day!

November 14, 2009

Good morning everyone! It’s World Diabetes 2009! World Diabetes Day aims to bring to light the importance of diabetes education and finding a cure for the millions of people worldwide who lives with this chronic, devestating illness, especially those in developing countries who don’t even have basic necessities to live with the disease.

No one should die from diabetes, so that’s why I am encouraging people to visit Life for a Child to donate to help children in developing countries have access to education and insulin. Insulin may not be a cure – but it is the reason we are all alive and everyone deserves access to it. There are a few other organizations who are dedicated to providing access to medication, and I encourage everyone to see out an organization that fits with their beliefs. I just happen to like Life for a Child.

In addition, tonight, the documentary on Life for a Child will be airing on the Sundance Channel at 8pm. I wrote about this film in April 2008 when I saw the premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival. I don’t happen to get the Sundance Channel, but if you do, please watch it.

Today, I’m hosting  a party for people with diabetes in Manhattan. I’m excited to see everyone, although I hardly need a reason to throw a party. But I’m always looking for a good excuse to get people together. I’ll have pictures on Monday.

Whatever it is you choose to do today, I hope overall that we are able to bring some light (preferably blue!) to the diabetes cause.

World-Diab-Day

3 Comments
  1. Kassie permalink
    November 14, 2009 1:18 PM

    We are so blessed here in the US in terms of diabetes care, aren’t we? Thanks for the reminder. Have a great WDD!

  2. tmana permalink
    November 15, 2009 12:03 AM

    Great seeing you and Eric again; great party!

  3. November 15, 2009 4:46 PM

    Yes, great party! Thanks for doing all the planning : )

Comments are closed.