Skip to content

Things That Make Me Happy Thursday: #11 and #12

November 12, 2009

This week for my Things That Make Me Happy edition, I’m going to talk about two types of people that make me happy. Enjoy!

#11: People Who Apologize When They Accidentally Run Into Youapologize

I live in New York City. Also known as: Land of People In It For Themselves. There’s very rarely a day that goes by when I don’t see someone walk into someone else. It’s never done on purpose. I mean, walking into someone hurts, so it’s not like anyone wants to do this. It’s just that they’re too busy texting their BFF, reading their email, scanning for celebrities, or simply have lost their personal self-awareness of how much space they actually take up in the universe. Please note: it’s probably more than you think. A couple of days ago, I was on the subway and some teen girl who was getting off knocked into me. I can’t remember if we bumped hands or she stepped on my foot, but some sort of physical contact was made. And she quickly said, “Sorry!” Considering how many people NEVER SAY ANYTHING, I appreciated this gesture. Just because we live in a big city doesn’t mean we can’t have a manners.

Insurance companies are evil! Except for United Healthcare... I liked them.#12: People Who Are Patient and Help Other People.

I recently changed jobs and now I have to suffer through the hideous process of changing my insurance companies. I was with United Healthcare for over two years and I loved them. They never charged me for diabetes supplies and they approved my application for a continuous glucose monitor in less than a week. It was shockingly good. But now I’m on a different insurance company and I don’t know what they’re going to do to me. Throw me under the bus? Shower me with consideration and love? Doubtful, but I can hope. I had a call with one of the HR ladies at my new company today and we spent 45 minutes going over my insurance benefits, what I should sign up for, how I should handle my prescriptions. I gave her the information for my diabetes supplies and she’s going to help me make sure I get everything covered. She says it’s so much easier to help people when they let you know ahead of time what you need. I hope our proactive work will help. But it was nice to talk to someone who genuinely wants to help me figure out what I need to do to stay healthy and get the care and supplies that I need. Trust me, I need all the help I can get!

2 Comments
  1. November 12, 2009 9:28 PM

    Yea! I am so glad you had a helpful HR person. Can you have her call someone at my work and tell our HR how to do that? ha! I hope everything is covered for you.

  2. November 13, 2009 6:24 PM

    I ALWAYS did #11 when i lived i nyc, i hated it when people didnt!

Comments are closed.