Skip to content

A Graceful Disaster.

November 11, 2009

When I was growing up, I was not athletic. I’m still not athletic, as anyone who has ever met me or seen a picture of me can attest to, but I have finally found a few activities that I can stand doing for more than, like, five minutes. I vividly remember trying out for the soccer team when I was in elementary school and having zero control of my soccer ball and after ten minutes, completely giving up, throwing the ball into a corner and turning into a hysterical mess of hot tears and gulping sobs as my mother drove me home where I promptly stomped upstairs and slammed the door. The most athletic I got after that was when I was the scorekeeper for my middle school’s girl’s junior varsity volleyball team.

balletshoeIt wasn’t until college that I attempted another athletic activity, one that surprised even myself that I would consider doing: ballet. I have never been graceful, and being overweight, I felt more akin to a lumbering football player than a graceful swan. I took classes through my alma mater, the University of Oregon. I was not only getting college credit (albeit not towards anything remotely relevant), but my parents were also paying for it (since they paid my tuition). It seemed like a sweet deal. Although my flexibility never improved to the point I could do the splits, my hamstrings stretched well enough that I could almost put my hands flat on the ground when I bent over.

When I was a junior in college, though, my classes for my major ramped up, I started up a second minor in Non-Profit Administration, and my classes started to conflict with the times of the ballet classes. I eventually dropped dance class in favor of, you know, graduating on time. I kept my leotard, tights and ballet slippers in a drawer up at my parents for ages until I finally decided that I might want to try taking dance classes again.

The problem with starting dance class while being a working woman is most of them are during the day, or on the weekends, or they are only once a week which doesn’t really help when you’re trying to improve your strength and technique. I was taking ballet four days a week in college, and even then it really wasn’t enough. When I wrote my 101 Things List in January 2008, I put “take an adult ballet/dance class” on the list but sadly, couldn’t find any studios in New Jersey that would fit my schedule.

In July, just before moving to New York City, I lost a change purse that I used to keep my train and bus tickets. It was a Coach change purse, and I loved it because I’m a designer whore who can’t afford anything designer. I was crushed. So for my birthday in August, Erik bought me a new Coach change purse. When I opened it, I thought it was perfect, and was completely surprised that he would think to replace it with another Coach change purse (these things aren’t cheap).

While I was looking at it, Erik says, “What’s that it in the pocket…?”

balletarts“Huh?” I asked, flipping it over. In the front pocket of the change purse was a little card. I pulled it out and read, “Ballet Arts: Center for Dance.” Erik had bought me a pack of ballet classes at a studio in midtown Manhattan. (Yeah, I know, awww….)

It took several weeks before my own schedule lightened up enough that I had time to take the class. My parents mailed me my ballet clothes – shoes and all. The shoes are the most important aspect of a ballerina’s outfit. The shoes are leather and take weeks to break in, formed to the foot and worn down enough that they slide comfortably across the floor. I lost one of my shoes my sophomore year in college and was so frustrated when the leather of my new shoes would stick to the floor!

Last night was my first class, and while my mind remembered all the plies and degages, my body firmly did not. The first half an hour was actually pretty good, but then my body realized it had not done this in four years and it was pissed. My thighs and calves screamed at me and I was so sore afterward that my calves cramped terribly as I climbed the stairs to my apartment.

We’ll see how I manage another class in the future. I’m not sure how well my body will tolerate doing a ballet class just once a week, so I’ll have to fit in the time to go twice, or maybe three times a week if I can help it. Erik only purchased a 10 ticket card though, and I don’t want to use them up too quickly. Ballet classes are not cheap.

Ballet is, however, a form of exercise I’ve always enjoyed. And it’s one that I can actually do. Well, I can do it better than maneuvering that Godforsaken soccer ball (sorry, deep-seeded childhood bitterness). It doesn’t seem to damage my blood sugars too badly probably because it’s not to intense and I don’t have a rush of adrenaline. I wore my pump to last night’s class because I was wearing my gym pants, but my instructor said that it’s best just to wear a leotard and tights when dancing, to help improve the line of your body. Since I don’t wear a bra while dancing (the leotard keeps you plenty in place), there isn’t anywhere to put the gadget. I always danced without a pump in college, but my body doesn’t like to be disconnected for too long, or I spike something fierce. So I’ll have to work something out if I partake in ballet regularly.

Do you have a favorite, non-traditional method of exercise? I know Scott plays basketball with his homies. I’ve always thought team sports or dance are more fun than huffing and puffing on a treadmill. If you have any ideas on things I can try, I’d love to hear your thoughts. Anything to keep me off an elliptical machine will keep me happy!

11 Comments
  1. November 11, 2009 6:11 PM

    Oh… I am so jealous! I love ballet. I took classes all through elementary and jr. high and then again in college. Like you, I haven’t been able to find an adult class. For exercise now, I enjoy short runs. I also like Wii Fit Plus and the 30 day shred workout video. All you need is a yoga mat and hand weights for the video. It is easy enough to get a step ladder and to step ups while watching TV shows. I also have an acuhoop sports hula hoop. It is 4 lbs and fun to use except for when my pump infusion set is too high.

    Great job getting into a class!! Yea for Erik🙂

  2. November 11, 2009 6:20 PM

    I wish I had a suggestion to try…..but mine was gymnastics. I do miss it.
    Now I just hang out with Mr. Smiley, my Stayball, for my core. I need to do more. I do enjoy it, sometimes. Good luck!

  3. November 11, 2009 6:57 PM

    I took a boxing class a few years ago and LOVED it. It was in part due to the instructor – she was incredibly motivational and pumped everyone up – but man, the workout was INTENSE! We learned proper boxing technique and totally let out our aggressions on a heavy bag.

    What kind of turned me off of it though was by the end of the first month, we started sparring with a partner, and I was just too afraid to really hit anyone. But up until then it was awesome. If it had just been a “box-ercise” type class, I definitely would have kept with it.

    • November 11, 2009 6:59 PM

      Have you tried kickboxing? I would think that would be similar to boxing but from what I’ve seen, most gyms don’t do any actual sparing with people.

      • November 11, 2009 7:10 PM

        Isn’t kickboxing more like a karate thing? Anyway, I’m not sure that there’s even a kickboxing gym around here, being a smaller town and all. The boxing gym that I went to doesn’t even exist anymore.

        Taking a dance class sounds like a great idea though. I’m not sure if I could handle ballet – I am not flexible at ALL – but maybe like tap-dancing or something.🙂 Enjoy your classes!

        • November 11, 2009 7:36 PM

          I think kickboxing is a mix of karate and boxing. The class I took definitely had the boxing motions to it, but there were kicks too… LOL, hence, kickboxing! Gyms around here are usually the places that I see it offered.

  4. November 11, 2009 7:00 PM

    What a great gift! I hope you’re able to enjoy the classes more after your body remembers how much fun it is.

  5. November 11, 2009 11:08 PM

    I just have to say that your boyfriend is SO SWEET! What a thoughtful gift🙂

  6. November 12, 2009 1:21 PM

    Oh, Ballet! That’s something I haven’t been able to do in years, either. I used to take classes 5x a week and was on a competition team (for Jazz & Tap though, not for Ballet) and I miss it a lot.😦 I feel so out of shape now in comparison to when I was taking those classes.

    When I finally get a full-time job, one of the first things I’m going to do is sign up for dance classes again. How do you like the studio you’re going to? Do they offer anything else besides Ballet? I find myself wanting to take Bellydance and Jazz again, too.

Trackbacks

  1. Plodding My Way Through the Goals. « Lemonade Life
  2. Things That Make Me Happy: #36-39 « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.