Skip to content

Back from Florida!

November 8, 2009

I’m back from Florida and it was definitely NOT enough time. I should have gone down earlier to relax a bit, as it was beautiful and warm in Ft. Lauderdale. I’ll have a longer post tomorrow about my DRI experience, but I just wanted to stop by and say a little hello and let everyone know that I have made it home safe and sound! I still hate Newark Liberty International Airport and I swear that airport as separation anxiety as it took nearly 30 minutes to get my bag at baggage claim. How hard is it to put suitcases on a converyor belt? I don’t understand.

 

Tomorrow is my first day at my  new job so I have to hit the hay!

One Comment
  1. tmana permalink
    November 11, 2009 1:42 AM

    It’s not just putting suitcases on a conveyor belt. They first have to be unloaded from the airplane (there is a particular protocol for loading/unloading baggage to keep its weight correctly distributed throughout the aircraft), manually placed on those circus-train trucks, driven across the gate areas (through aircraft, fuel tanker, and other circus-train-baggage-truck traffic) to the back end of the baggage claim area, and directed through to the back end of the appropriate baggage carousel… then manually unloaded, circus-car by circus-car, onto the conveyor leading to the carousel.

    There are actually technical articles written on the in-plane and in-airport baggage handling mechanisms, and the loading/unloading protocols (I’ve had to index them).

Comments are closed.