Skip to content

Things That Make Me Happy Thursday: #8 thru #10

November 5, 2009

One of the things on my 101 Things list is to write down 101 things that make me happy. So far, I’ve blogged about seven things: Girl Scout Cookies, Books, Star Trek, Broadway, Email, Moby, Fall Foliage.

Great stuff, right?

However, I noticed a few weeks ago that I passed my One Year Left mark and had 52 weeks to write 94 items. That’s an average of 2 a week. So I thought, rather than taking up 2 blog posts a week talking about things that make me happy, I’ll blog once a week on 2 or 3 things that make happy. Starting this week!

#8: Flying in airplanes
Most people don’t enjoy flying in airplanes, and even if they aren’t totally terribly scared of flying, I don’t know many people who actually enjoy flying. But I do. Let me be clear: I don’t enjoy airports or airport security or the fact my Herbal Essences shampoo has been deemed a weapon of mass destruction or over-priced airport food or rude counter staff. I also don’t enjoy bad airplane food, snippy flight attendants or lack of leg room. So what do I enjoy? The view.

DSCN3559

Flying over England, September 2008

#9: Twitter
As you can probably imagine with my announcement on Monday that I’m changing jobs, Twitter is a pretty important part of my life. It’s how I met my connection with my new agency. Twitter has allowed me to meet so many new people, eavesdrop on amazing conferences and event without actually having to go anywhere, and has given me an outlet to complain about diabetes and get instant gratification. Which, as we all know, is the source of all happiness. Well, kind of.

80394#10: Wedding TV Shows
Don’t get any funny ideas now… I am not engaged, but I am addicted to wedding TV shows. Some of my faves include Rich Bride Poor Bride, Say Yes to the Dress and My Fair Wedding with David Tutera. My dream is to have David Tutera plan my wedding. While I’m not really taking notes right now as far as what I want my wedding to be, I have a feeling some of this will come in handy when I finally do tie the knot. I also like wedding shows because they are always so romantic and they always have a happy ending! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve cried at wedding shows… but always because I’m happy.

4 Comments
  1. November 5, 2009 7:08 PM

    I love flying, too! My boyfriend HATES it though!

  2. geosim23 permalink
    November 5, 2009 7:51 PM

    I LOVE flying too. I hate everything up to getting thru security. As soon as I am in the terminal and ready to go, the awesomeness begins.

    I stress beforehand but I sleep like a baby on planes and I just love it.

  3. November 12, 2009 1:27 PM

    Wow, David Tutera… in my family he’s known as “a*hole #1.” My Aunt (a event designer/florist—carolyndempseydesign.com) used to work for him and let me tell you, he is not a nice person. Like at all. >.> I’m not sure how he comes across on TV because I’ve never watched his show.

    • November 12, 2009 2:23 PM

      He comes off as being really bubbly and happy. Sometimes a little harsh on camera when he’s criticizing but he seems nice to the women he’s working with.

Comments are closed.