Skip to content

Moving On, Moving Up.

November 2, 2009

I was planning on writing about this tomorrow, but it doesn’t look like Erik will be able to send me the photos from our trip to Newport, Rhode Island until later tonight, so I’ve decided to write about this tonight instead.

Two weeks ago, I quit my job.

I know what you’re thinking. Who in their right mind quits their job in the middle of a recession? Well, it would be crazy if I had quit my job without having another job lined up, which I did. So that begs the question, how did I get a job in the middle of a recession?

workIf there’s one thing I’ve learned in my many years in the workforce (that’s sarcasm, folks), it’s the importance of networking. When I decided to move to New York City to pursue a lifelong dream, I knew I needed to find a good job to afford the exhorbitant cost of living here. Networking in the diabetes community led me to Sean Hughes, who was kind enough to introduce me to Tom Biro, who was kind enough to give me a job at a top PR agency, MWW Group, working in social media, which at the time, I didn’t even know was a job. You probably haven’t heard of MWW Group, but you probably haven’t heard of most PR agencies that represent the many brands we work for. But you’ve probably heard of Nikon, Samsung, Volkwagen, ING Direct, 1-800-FLOWERS.COM…. should I continue? Needless to say, it was a great experience and I learned tremendously about how to work in a corporate setting. I also realize, now being in the midst of a recession with my younger brother starting his sophomore  year in college, just how damn lucky I was that I was hired straight out of college. It’s not something that is easy to come by these days and I thank my lucky stars that Tom was crazy enough to think that I was worth hiring.

But that was then. This year, especially with the experience at Roche Diabetes Social Media Summit, I decided that I wanted to fully move into the healthcare field. Healthcare has always been something I’ve been passionate about, and while I know it’s not always as sexy or exciting as consumer lifestyle companies, I also know just how important it is to all of us.

While I was in Indianapolis, I tweeted about the Summit. I noticed a retweet from someone who I didn’t recognize. I clicked on his name and read a brief profile, which said he was a Director of Media for a healthcare PR agency. It was an agency I had read about in one of our trade magazines, and I had visited their website. So I followed back and I sent a direct message asking if they were hiring. He was kind of enough to direct me to their HR Director.

After a series of interviews and a lot of anxious waiting, I was given the opportunity to join the staff of WeissComm Group. I’ll be joining their social media practice, bridging my experiences as a patient blogger with my professional work in strategic communication for clients.

As far as how this affects my blogging, I have never had an interest in blogging about my work on my personal blog. I plan on maintaining this practice in my new position at WeissComm. While I may guest blog or contribute to health blogs, I do not plan on writing about my clients on this blog. And if I do, I will fully disclose this to you.

I am excited to advance my career towards the industry that I have long thought was the right fit for me. I am also excited to finally be living and working in Manhattan, I dream I have had since I was in high school.

I start my new job on Monday, November 9th, so I will have Tuesday, Wednesday and most of Thursday to myself for a little staycation before flying to Florida for Diabetes 2.0. Can we say hair salon?

Many thanks to my crew at MWW Group, and I’m looking forward to getting to know my new family at WeissComm.

23 Comments
  1. tmana permalink
    November 2, 2009 7:55 PM

    Congratulations on the move!

  2. November 2, 2009 7:59 PM

    Congrats! Sounds like a good move!!!

  3. November 2, 2009 8:01 PM

    Congratulations!! Wonderful news! Exciting new adventure for you.😉

  4. November 2, 2009 8:03 PM

    I’m thrilled that you found a new home (who would have thought a couple of tweets would have such an impact?), and I’m bummed that my own life change means that we won’t overlap. Best of luck!

  5. November 2, 2009 8:20 PM

    Great news!! Sounds exciting, challenging and fun. Good for you!

  6. November 2, 2009 8:27 PM

    Awesome Allison! Congrats.🙂

  7. November 2, 2009 8:52 PM

    Wow. Big up yo-self. Congrats

  8. November 2, 2009 9:24 PM

    I was fortunate to have found a new job just recently too so there are jobs out there. I just wish it were enough for those looking for so long. I wish you much luck in your new job! And enjoy your days of “unemployment”🙂

  9. Tom Biro permalink
    November 2, 2009 9:39 PM

    Congrats, Allison. I’m really happy for you and wish you all the best at your new gig.

  10. November 2, 2009 10:44 PM

    Congrats! This sounds like a great fit. Good luck!

  11. November 2, 2009 11:28 PM

    congrats allison

  12. November 2, 2009 11:57 PM

    Congratulations! That is very, very exciting. Netowrking is so important and this is a perfect example of WHY!

    • November 2, 2009 11:59 PM

      BTW – if you want me to guest blog on your blog, just email me. I’m interested!

  13. November 3, 2009 12:13 AM

    Congratulations!

  14. Mel permalink
    November 3, 2009 12:32 AM

    Congrats!!

  15. November 3, 2009 2:58 AM

    That’s fantastic! Congratulations, Allison!! I’m really excited for you🙂

  16. November 3, 2009 9:27 AM

    Hey, congratulations! That’s very exciting – I expect to hear how the new job is going on WDD!

  17. Colleen permalink
    November 3, 2009 11:13 AM

    Congratulations Allison, this is so exciting!!!

  18. Lauran Driver permalink
    November 3, 2009 11:43 AM

    Welcome to the WeissComm fam!! Looking forward to working with you.😉

  19. November 3, 2009 1:36 PM

    Wow! Of course I’m going to miss you but I totally understand needing to make a change for the better. I also have recently quit my job to pursue something closer to my heart…motherhood..LOL. Wishing you much success in your new company and position.

  20. November 3, 2009 7:16 PM

    Congratulations Allison! This sounds like a terrific move.

Trackbacks

  1. The Best of 2009 – Part One « Lemonade Life
  2. The Best of 2009: Part Two. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.