Skip to content

A Sweet Weekend.

October 30, 2009

Happy Day-Before-Halloween everyone! Do you have your costume yet?

halloween_pumpkin I don’t. I’ve decided not to celebrate Halloween in the traditional way this year, because I have something better to celebrate: the birth of my boyfriend! Erik has been blessed (or cursed, depending on how you look at it) with having been born on Halloween. But instead of throwing a Halloween party in one of our tiny apartments that fit like five people (including us) or trekking down to the East Village to partake in the drunken madness and $60 cover charge (I don’t like bars on NORMAL nights, let alone the freakfest that is All Hallow’s Eve), we’ve decided to hightail it out of here.

And we’re heading to Newport, Rhode Island. We’re staying at a cute bed and breakfast and will hopefully get to enjoy a bit of nice weather before it turns sour on Sunday. I’m just looking forward to spending sometime outside of the city. I love New York City, but the people can sometimes get to you.

The funny thing is that the last time I was in Newport was with Mel and as we were driving back to Providence, where I was staying, I told Mel that the next time I wanted to come to Newport was with a boyfriend. Well, it took me two years but it’s finally happening!

Maybe we’ll visit an old New England haunted house… Anyone know of any in Connecticut or Rhode Island?

Hope you have a great Halloween – and don’t forget to bolus!

5 Comments
  1. tmana permalink
    October 30, 2009 12:08 PM

    Smart thing to be out of the City for the huge Hallowe’en Parade and then Marathon madness. We’re kind of lucky that our post is up at Mile 20 (in the Bronx), so we miss a lot of the Manhattan… stuff… Then again, we have to be on site before they close down the streets (i.e., at oh-dark-thirty), and we’re there until they close down the mile marker and the medical tent (i.e., late afternoon), and we still have to deal with road closures and piled-up traffic on our way home.

    Enjoy celebrating Erik’s birthday, and enjoy Newport. I’ve not been up there since university, and I still want to spend a weekend there with a bicycle and a camera…

    • October 30, 2009 2:34 PM

      That does not sound fun! But cheering on and helping marathoners does, so hopefully it goes well and isn’t too stressful.

  2. October 30, 2009 12:58 PM

    That sounds like the perfect way to spend the weekend. I would trade in my “Halloween Madness” plans for a weekend at a cute B&B in the country any day!

    Have fun!!

    • October 30, 2009 2:34 PM

      It should be a good time hopefully. Enjoy your Halloween Madness for the both of us!

Trackbacks

  1. And so it begins… « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.