Skip to content

On Tour: New Jersey, Florida and World Diabetes Day.

October 7, 2009

I have a nice break during September and October where I’m not traveling as much as I did during the summer, but that doesn’t mean you can’t still hang out with me! I have a few upcoming events that I’d like to share and hopefully I’ll see some friendly faces in the crowd.

New Jersey:
On October 20, I’ll be speaking at Digital Pharma in Bridgewater, New Jersey. Digital Pharma is an unconference of sorts for the pharma marketing folks to learn more about social media and digital marketing. I’ll be speaking about patient blogging, and more specifically, the Diabetes Online Community and how our social media efforts have impacted ourselves and the pharmaceutical companies that support us (read: Roche). I’ll be featuring a handful of you in my presentation, but if you have any special words of wisdom you want to make sure I pass along to my audience, please leave a comment or shoot me an email. Obviously I learned a lot and gathered a lot of wonderful insights at the Roche Diabetes Social Media Summit, but for those who didn’t attend, I would love to hear from you about what blogging and social media means to you from a patient’s perspective.

Florida:Diabetes2_150x300
Just two weeks after Digital Pharma, I’ll be flying down to Miami to appear at the Diabetes Research Institute’s Diabetes 2.0 conference alongside some community favorites like Gina Capone, Scott Strumello, Jeff Hitchcock and Ellen Ullman. I will be a panelist on “Diabetes: Grown Up,” about the challenges of growing up with diabetes for both parents and teenagers. I suppose I am a bit of an expert – considering I did it – but I would love to hear from other adults with diabetes on your advice to parents and teens who are going through the transition phase. If you live in the area, the one-day conference is actually fairly reasonable in price. It’s only $25 per person, or $60 for a family of 4.

World Diabetes Day:
This year, World Diabetes Day is on a Saturday, which means I am hosting another meet-up. Because that’s how I roll. I’m not sure where it will take place (I’m having some technical difficulties…) but it will definitely happen. Because when I say something’s going to happen, it happens! It’ll be pizza party themed with some balloons and snacks and probably cupcakes. It’s on my to-do list. If you have a location that you think would be suitable for a semi-large party (I really don’t know how many people will come, but I can’t imagine it being more than 30 at any given time), please let me know. That’d be swell.

Hope to see you around!

Comments are closed.