Skip to content

Away I Go.

October 6, 2009

Despite the fact that my 101 Things In 1,001 Days Challenge involves watching copious amounts of movies, I haven’t done a very good job at doing any reviews. Some, but not a lot. This weekend, I watched Away We Go, my 61st movie (I have a little less than 1 year to watch another 40) since January 1, 2008.

Away We Go (co-written by Dave Eggers, who I heart, and his wife) is about a couple who are about to have a baby when they discover their parents are about to move to Europe. So instead of staying where they are, they decide to go find a new place to raise their family. They visit Arizona, Wisconsin, Canada and Florida on their quest. The movie involves quirky characters who typify various styles of parenting, and it’s hilarious and poignant at the same time. I was reminded of the movie Garden State throughout the movie, which is a coming-of-age story written by Scrubs star Zach Braff.

A major theme of the movie was change, and how change can be refreshing. But it’s overwhelming and can choke desire right out of you. There is fear in change; whether or not you’re making the right decision. Panic. The biggest change in my life, so far, was when I moved from the West Coast to the East Coast when I was 21 years old. But I was independent (dare I say alone?), without much holding me down. On one hand, I feel like that made change very easy. I could slip away without having to break up with a boyfriend or quit a job or forgo… anything. Saying good-bye to my family was hard, and it still is.

But on the other hand, I didn’t have any stability. There wasn’t any constants in my life when I moved to the East Coast because I was alone. I didn’t have anyone I saw regularly outside of my work life, and for all intents and purposes, my work life was my life and my co-workers were my friends. There wasn’t anyone else.

Erik and I have discussed whether or not we would be comfortable moving somewhere else. I think it’s important to discuss when you’re in a relationship. Sometimes people are more tied down to a particular place than the other place. But neither Erik or I are from New York City (he’s a Minnesota boy), and while we love New York City (love love love), I certainly am not married to the city. Breaking up would be sad, but I wouldn’t spend weeks in bed crying and eating chocolate ice cream.

I certainly have no intention of moving away from New York City right now. I have no reason to. We are in a down economy and I think it would be difficult to start a new life right now, though I’m sure there are people who are doing it. Away I go? Maybe someday. But I am happy where I am right now.

Anyway, I always like to watch movies that make me think about my own life in a new way or show me how other people make decisions. It’s fun to watch Star Trek or Harry Potter but they don’t really have much to do with my life! I’d love to hear what movies have affected you or a character that you identified with. I have 40 more movies to watch! I need some more ideas!

3 Comments
  1. October 6, 2009 1:03 PM

    I just watched this movie and I loved it! I didn’t know what to expect but it was so cute and funny. Also it defiantly made me think about moving like that, to find where you belong.

  2. October 6, 2009 3:31 PM

    St. Elmo’s Fire…. a total 80’s movie, but I discovered it at the time in my life (they few years right after college) when I felt like I really identified w/ it. They are all young, trying to figure out who they are as grown-ups, and trying to figure out how to live life on their own terms instead of some outside person’s idea of how they should live life.
    I highly recommend it. 🙂

    • October 6, 2009 3:46 PM

      Cara… you BOUGHT me St. Elmo’s Fire, remember? For the sussy? I own it. I love it too.😉

Comments are closed.