Skip to content

My Invisible Illness

September 18, 2009

I already wrote today, but since it’s National Invisible Illness Awareness Week, I figured it would be proper to post this meme that has been going around…

1. The illness I live with is: Type 1 Diabetes

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: 1994

3. But I had symptoms since: January 1994. It was a quick onset. I only had symptoms for about a month.

4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: I’m not sure I really made any adjustments other than incorporating carb counting and injections into my life. I was 8 years old when I was diagnosed so I hadn’t really developed any habits or “ways of doing things” by that time. I’m sure my parents had to adjust though.

5. Most people assume: that I’m either going to die any minute, was born with it, or can’t have sugar EVER!

6. The hardest part about mornings are: testing my blood sugar because I’m usually running late and the last thing I want to do is stop and test.

7. My favorite medical TV show is: House

8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: Medtronic Minimed pump and CGMS.

9. The hardest part about nights are: waking up lwith my CGM screaming at me that I’m high. And have it continue to do that until I reach the target range.

10. Each day I take: insulin… I don’t really take anything else.

11. Regarding alternative treatments I: think they are ridiculous and dangerous and stupid and…. you get the picture.

12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: probably invisible. There’s less chance of complete strangers feeling sorry for you.

13. Regarding working and career: my diabetes has helped me progress farther in my career than I would have imagined and I thank my lucky stars that my former boss wasn’t a jerk about it.

14. People would be surprised to know: that I sometimes don’t test my blood sugar. God, I hate it….

15. The hardest thing to accept about my reality has been: the fact that having a baby is going to be really, really hard.

16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: have someone fall in love with me.

17. The commercials about my illness: make me want to vomit.

18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: uh, not have to worry about carb counting. So not fun.

19. It was really hard to have to give up: the idea that I could travel the world like other twentysomethings do. Hello health insurance!

20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: planning events and meet-ups for people who are SO TOTALLY AWESOME.

21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: eat the Mud Pie from Red Robbins BY MYSELF.

22. My illness has taught me: empathy, responsibility, leadership and determination. It also taught me to get over my stage fright.

23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: “Oh that’s too bad…” or “I’m sorry….” A woman at Pret a Manger said that to me on Tuesday and I was like, “I’m not dying! sheesh.” Or say anything steretypical or generalized.

24. But I love it when people: ask me questions instead of making stupid assumptions.

25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: “when life hands you lemons, make lemonade.” Duh.

26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: Relax. Take it one day at a time. Your life is not over. It may suck sometimes, but you’ll be great. Not just fine – great.

27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: how much strange it is.

28. The nicest thing someone can do for me when I’m not feeling well is: do what I say and stop PESTERING ME.  I tend to get a tad agitated when I’m low or high.

29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: it’s important to understand that not everything can be seen or heard, and that people deserve to live their life as best they can, but sometimes need help doing it.

30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: hopeful.

2 Comments
  1. September 18, 2009 2:15 PM

    Sick? “STOP PESTERING ME!” I know exactly what you mean.🙂 I’m really enjoying the invisible illness meme. Thanks for sharing.

  2. September 20, 2009 2:03 PM

    I love the list and I wish I would have know about this week before it was over! But I completely agree. I hate having people pity you or think there is something wrong with you because you have an illness.

    I don’t see myself as sick. I have an illness that sucks and that I have to contend with on a daily basis, but I am not sick. At least in my opinion😉

    Jamie
    (oh I changed blog addresses, trying to get this new one set up)

Comments are closed.