Skip to content

Allison Answers.

September 18, 2009

Ohhh! I like this! OK, so of those 60 movies, which one affected you most? By that I mean, made you see yourself or people around you or society in a different light, made you rethink your perceptions or opinion about something, made you think about relationships differently… something like that. Maybe none of them did that, but that’s the first question that popped into my head.

Baby Mama. Definitely.

Just kidding! Actually, and I may be reinterpreting your question, but I think the movie that so far as had the most impact on me personally was Charlie Wilson’s War. That really surprised me, too, actually, but the movie takes place basically during the year I was born and was about a huge part of history (the beginning of the Taliban) and yet I knew nothing about it. It really surprised me that I knew nothing about what had really happened, and how all this stuff had started – or rather continued – when I was a baby. It’s so recent that it wasn’t taught in history class, but I was too young to know it had happened. It was sort of shocking, seeing how involved the U.S. was in Afghanistan in the mid-80s, and yet I had never heard of the country until 9/11. It was also an excellent movie, with wonderful performances from Tom Hanks, Julia Roberts and Philip Seymour Hoffman.

What is one thing you enjoy about having diabetes?

That’s easy. The people.

I also enjoyed getting out of gym class.

What are the “can’t miss” movies from the past few months?

Well, I’m not sure what “the past few months” means, so I’ll go from May which is when Star Trek came out. Star Trek is DEFINITELY a can’t miss movie. Most of the movies I saw this summer were actually on DVD. Of the ones in the theater, obviously, Harry Potter is a can’t miss. Other ones that I’ve seen that I recommend are: Public Enemies, Frost/Nixon, and Ratatouille (which actually came out like a million years ago). I also really like The September Issue, but that would probably only interest some people who are interested in how fashion magazines are made.

Where is one place in the world you really want to travel to, or want to travel to again?

I would LOVE to travel to Israel. I just feel like it’s some place that every Christian should go. I also have a cousin who lives there, so I think it would be cool to visit it with a real native, and not just with a tour guide.

Have you named your diabetes, and then refused to talk to her? I’d be happy to send mine to you for a visit. She is cranky and unloved and has been around for 32 of my 39 years. I’m startint to make friends with her, but in truth, I hate her. I can’t be the only one that has assigned this thing a personality, can I?

Honestly, I haven’t. I don’t really have that much anger towards my diabetes. I don’t blame “it” for anything. It’s not like it’s a conscious entity that is doing this stuff to me on purpose. It just happened, for whatever reason, and I’m not happy about it and I don’t like it. But I don’t have hatred towards it. It’s a waste of time and doesn’t make my life any easier.

What are the best and worst things about living in New York City?

This is going to be tough! The best thing about New York City is the diversity – there is always something to do and you never need to do the same thing over and over again. There are so many restaurants, so many diverse neighborhoods. It’s so interesting! I love it. The worst thing about New York City is probably just how expensive it is! It makes it so difficult to do all the fun things that there are to do.😦 I’m also not a huge fan of the subway system, but I like not relying on a car. It’s good for the environment.

2 Comments
  1. September 25, 2009 2:25 PM

    Thank you for answering my question. I agree that you get a different experience from a place when you cut out the tour guide =)

  2. January 5, 2010 11:36 AM

    I’m glad you’re doing Ask Allison again because I had forgotten to check the response from the first time I asked a question. Fllow-up is not one of my strengths. Anyhoo, I love the response. I’ve not seen Charlie Wilson’s War, so I think I’ll be adding it to my NetFlix list now!

Comments are closed.