Skip to content

Thing that makes me happy #5: Email.

September 1, 2009

I have been using email since I was about 11 years old. That’s more than half my life, if anyone is counting. I was introduced to it by the Godfather of Email, America Online. Back when getting mail meant an overflowing mailbox icon and the cheerful automated voice, “You’ve Got Mail!”

Tell me I’m not the only one who gets a little misty and sighs at the opening scene of the movie “You’ve Got Mail,” the adorable romantic comedy with Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks who in my perfect fantasy world actually are together living happily ever after? Not just me? Good.

Email is so much more convenient than regular mail, and thus makes you feel ten times more important than regular mail ever did. I used to bring in the mail every day during high school because I was the first one home, and I rarely – if ever – got anything if it wasn’t my birthday or some diabetes organization wasn’t soliciting me for donations or inviting me to another event.

Once instant messengers became the go-to communication system, email seemed almost as Holy Grail-like as regular mail. Nowadays, most of my email is work related, so I’m not necessarily to keen on the content anymore.

However, email makes me happy because 1) it’s fast 2) you can turn what would have been a long-winded, incoherant rant into a cutting, brilliant use of the English language rendering your opponent indefensible! and 3) I can keep track of what is said much easier than I can in any other form of communication, and I’ve used it to get in touch with people I haven’t spoken to in years.

It was also a pretty fun way to get to know a boy too.

Actually, I remember when I was in high school, I liked this other guy (yes, it’s true, there were others before Erik) and every week we used to exchange emails about the previous nights TV shows that we watched – Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Star Trek (I am a geek, yes?). Anyway, we’d talk about what we liked, didn’t like, what we thought next week’s episode would be about and what would happen. We’d also exchange some casual yet witty banter until the next week. And this guy was always the first one to email, because I wasn’t allowed on the computer after the TV shows were over (because of how late it was). So in the morning, I would literally race to an open computer, pray the computer loaded quickly, sign on to AOL, check my email, read it, write back and then rush off to my first class because CLEARLY waiting until that afternoon when I got home wasn’t going to do.

Now that I’m older, work email kinda drags the email happiness level down a few notches, and being in a relationship means that anticipatory flirty emails are no longer coming on the regular. But I still appreciate emails many benefits.

I may not get an inbox full of mail, but I do get a shiny blue envelope that makes me go “Ooooo, yay!”

7 Comments
  1. kelsey tullis permalink
    September 1, 2009 11:34 PM

    woah, this is really good writing! ive never actually looked at ur blog before, but im glad i chose too… and i love the title… lemonade life. love it🙂
    ur fellow diabetic, kelsey🙂

  2. September 2, 2009 9:29 AM

    I remember when AOL 4.0 came out and you could send pictures in email. Madness.

    • September 2, 2009 10:19 AM

      Oh man, pictures… Wow. It was revolutionary! It’s the simple pleasures, really…

  3. cuteellaisbold permalink
    September 2, 2009 2:58 PM

    Oh AOL how I don’t miss you…other than the ability to Unsend an email!!! (Because everyone else that had email had AOL too so you could send and unsend to your heart’s content…)

    One question though, why can’t you send flirty emails now? You just send them to Erik! I used to get some pretty awesome ones from my ex. Something cute and flirty every day.😉

    • September 2, 2009 3:01 PM

      Oh man, I SO miss the unsend feature. Why the heck can’t they figure that out for the other email systems? Sheesh.

      And I suppose I do send flirty email to Erik, but it’s not *quite* the same when you’re dating the person. There’s no sitting in class wondering what each word means! Pretty straight forward now. Which, amazingly enough, I prefer!

    • tmana permalink
      September 3, 2009 7:38 AM

      I believe “unsend” depends on the server through which your e-mail is handled, the client you are using, and how quickly the recipient opens the mail. I’m pretty sure I’ve “unsent” a number of messages when I’ve used MS Outlook, the messages were stored on an Exchange server, and the recipient had not yet opened the message. OTOH, that could have been earlier versions, before Sarb-Ox became a normal part of our vocabularies…

Comments are closed.