Skip to content

Crossing Off My List.

August 26, 2009

This weekend I’ll be completing #82 on my 101 Things in 1,001 Days List. It’s a pretty big accomplishment, considering how long it’s taken me to actually get to this point. But I’m already starting to think about what else I can accomplish. I only have one year left, and although I’m well on my way to finishing my 101 Movies List (I’m at 58 movies) and I’ll be visiting my third state (out of a goal of 5) this weekend, plus a few other goals that I’m currently in the middle of completely, there are still A TON I have yet to get to.

Since it’s crunch time, with just a year left (the end date for my 1,001 dates is actually September 28, 2010, so technically I have 13 months to go), I am trying to prioritize what I should work on. Next up on my list: sponsor a child in a third world country, give up soda for a month, attend an adult ballet class, and send one birthday card every month for a year (since I only have one year left, I better start now!). I also need to keep working on my 101 things that make me happy list. I started that, but promptly forgot about it! Maybe I’ll write something tomorrow.

I realize there are certain goals I have, like going to Israel or getting a cat, that I just won’t actually be able to do. Going to Israel is expensive. And it takes a lot of time. Money and time are two things I don’t have much of. Getting a cat means actually living in an apartment that allows pets. So far, no good. Not to mention Erik is allergic. I was not dating Erik when I wrote the list, so an allergic boyfriend wasn’t something I was thinking about.

This morning I have been surfing websites to see what kind of organization is best for supporting a child in a third world country. I thought it would be a fairly easy thing to accomplish, since the payments are automatically deducted. But picking an organization is hard! Recommended organizations have been Compassion, Children International, World Vision, EduRelief and Life for a Child.

Ideally, I’d like to give to a particular child, so EduRelief and Life for a Child are out (not that I won’t give to them, just that they don’t match my criteria for my goal). Children International looks great, and it’s affordable. Compassion was recommended by three people, and it’s a Christian organization, but it’s more expensive. I don’t know much about World Vision, but it looks good too. So many choices! Have you ever supported a child through an organization? I’d love to hear your stories and what organization you have had a good experience with. When I make my choice, I’ll be sure to share all the pictures and letters I’m sure to receive!

4 Comments
  1. Sarah S. permalink
    August 26, 2009 3:34 PM

    I’ve done World Vision – I think my folks have too. It’s pretty straightforward and they send you regular updates monthly with occasional pictures. The Life for a Child programme is also an interesting option (haven’t done it myself) since it specifically supports kids with diabetes. Whichever you choose, it’s a good thing to do… maybe I’ll put myself down for that too.

    Peace,
    Sarah

    • August 26, 2009 4:21 PM

      I actually went ahead and did Children’s International after a few recommendations. Not to mention, it fits my budget better than the others!

  2. August 26, 2009 5:22 PM

    We’ve been sponsoring through Christian Foundation for Children & Aging since 1998. From a photo at church we chose a young girl in India. Uma and I have been writing back and forth until last year when she aged out of the program. So – now we have her younger sister. We receive regular letters/photos/info and we also write to our sponsored child about every other month. It has been a wonderful experience.
    http://www.cfcausa.org/
    Good luck on the ride! We’re all proud of you!!

  3. Nicole permalink
    September 3, 2009 10:19 AM

    Hi, Allison. My family has been involved with Compassion for over 20 years. It is a wonderful organization. The people who work there truly care, and they keep in good touch with the sponsors. It is a fabulous way to be a blessing and to be blessed.

    Nicole

Comments are closed.