Skip to content

#324

August 17, 2009

Yesterday Erik and I took another bike ride in preparation for my Ride to Cure Diabetes that takes place in two weeks – eeek!

We were going to ride both days, but our schedule ended up getting messed up on Saturday. But it actually turned out to work in our favor, since it gave me the opportunity to visit a local bike shop to purchase a new saddle for my bike. For the best two months, I’ve always felt like I never quite fit on my seat. I know most people say that their seat always hurts them, but mine was really uncomfortable. I knew I would not be able to go very far the way that it was. We went into the shop and spoke with a guy who specializes in fitting people for their saddle. He measured my sit bones by having me sit on a little squishy piece of fabric. Turns out, my saddle was made for a men’s bike, not a woman’s. Which makes sense because my bike is a men’s bike, so the original saddle would have been made for a man’s body. And let me tell you – I have hips.

On Sunday – one of the hottest and most humid of the year – we attempted to do a ride in Harriman State Park in New York. We carbed up at Quiznos and I lowered my basal rate, but I ended up overshooting my target by quite a bit. By the time we arrived at Harriman, my blood sugar was 345 mg/dl. WOW. I thought I might be able to lower it naturally just from biking riding, but after a few minutes of riding and attempting a climb, my muscles were burning like I had ketones (it’s quite possible I did…). After taking a break to take some insulin, Erik and I decided to head over to another trail that we had done a few weeks ago.

It’s called the Heritage Trail and it runs nine miles (and a little) one way. So it ends up being about 20 miles, and it’s a fairly flat trail, but with enough inclines to make it worth it. My blood sugar started out in the mid-200s and stayed that way the first half. We made it to the turn-around spot in about an hour. At the turn-around spot, which was a small town with literally nothing open on a Sunday except a pizza parlor, a Mexican supermarket and a liquor store, I had a Fiber One bar and this little gel pack that they say “boosts energy.” Both had about 25 grams of carb, so I decided to bolus for 25 grams so that I wouldn’t skyrocket but wouldn’t go low either.

That didn’t work so well. After about four miles, I was down to 156, and at six miles I was at 123 mg/dl. Less than a quarter mile, and I could barely move my legs. I tested, and I dropped to 88 mg/dl. I had gulped both of my juice boxes, and the rest of the time biked a little more slowly. The total ride time (not included the mid-way break) was about 2.5 hours. Which I think is pretty good.

I’ve been spending more time at the gym, pedaling on the bike machine for an hour to an hour and a half at a time. This weekend, Erik and I will be going out for a 35 miles bike ride. I’m not sure if I’ll end up going that long when I get to Vermont next weekend, but at least I’ll have an idea of what kind of shape my body is in.

I have several options for the Ride. First, I can go to the first rest stop and turn around, which is a total of 23 miles. Considering I’ve done two 20 miles rides, I’m fairly confident I can go another 3 miles! I can also go to the second rest stop and go back, which is 23 miles out, and 46 miles back. That’s a pretty big distance, since I haven’t really done something that extensive. There is also the third rest stop, which is just over 30 miles out, and would be a total of 62 miles if I turned around there. My thinking is that I can either go to the first rest stop and turn around or I’ll go to the third rest stop and then take one of the ride vehicles back. The main thing that is freaking me out at this point is that the ride both starts and stops at the same point – on top of a very steep incline. We’re talking over a thousand foot incline over several miles. Something tells me I’d be walking most of that!

I’m still about 10% away from my goal, so if you have a few dollars to spare to help me reach the line, I would very much appreciate it.

I also found out today what my Rider number is going to be: #324. As several people pointed out, it’s not a number I’d like my blood sugar to be, but I’m proud to wear that number on my jersey.

One Comment
  1. August 18, 2009 10:08 AM

    Feels like this Ride has been a long time in the making. Exciting stuff.

    Good luck.

Comments are closed.