Skip to content

One Month Out.

July 29, 2009

I can say for sure that being one month out from the Ride to Cure Diabetes is making me a little nervous. I’m not at the point where I’m going to say I can’t go, but I’m definitely at the point where I’m just not sure about anything.

First, I’m not even halfway to reaching my goal in fundraising. I’ve asked (and re-asked) almost everyone I know and still I’m only at $1200, which is 40% of my reduced goal. How can I get another $1800 when it’s taken so long just to get to $1200?

Second, and more importantly, I’m not sure I can physically do it. Between Roche, BlogHer and moving this Friday, I haven’t had the amount of time to work out in the gym. My longest ride so far is 19 miles, and I did a total of 27 miles in one weekend. But the shortest ride possible at the Ride to Cure Diabetes is 23 miles. I didn’t really want to do the shortest ride. But maybe that’s the best I can do this year.

I suppose that’s a very “diabetes” thing to say. Do the best you can do. Heck, that’s a very “life” thing to say. Do the best you can do.

If you can donate anything, please do. And if you can’t, I would also appreciate any blog posts, tweets or emails you can spare. Thanks.

5 Comments
  1. July 29, 2009 12:37 PM

    Hey Allison,

    Don’t aim for the lowest, you can do better than that🙂 There’s just a few things you have to remember. It’s not a race, it’s a ride. So just ride🙂 Aim for the rest stops, if you get to one and think you can get to the next, keep going. The route is designed with the exception of a loop at the very end in a manner such that if you get to a rest stop and you’re ready to head back, you can. You may not do the longest route, but you can aim for riding more than the shortest route🙂 Also, there will be like minded people out there riding with you, they’ll keep ya going🙂

    You can do it!

    Courtney

  2. July 29, 2009 12:51 PM

    Well you published this an hour ago and now you are at 71%!! You can do it for sure! I wish I could have donated more but I know that every little bit helps! Good luck!!

    • July 29, 2009 1:30 PM

      Dude, I know! I was like “Damn, now I gotta go and change my post!” But I’m going to leave it as is, because I am still nervous about my ability to actually DO the Ride. Sigh.

  3. July 30, 2009 5:57 AM

    You can definitely do it physically! If you have done a 19 mile ride, you can definitely do a 23, most likely a lot, lot more! For sure!

  4. August 10, 2009 3:12 PM

    It is an honorable thing to ride for cures. Thank you very much. My father has been battling diabetes for a couple years now and he has been seeing various practitioners including an upper cervical specific chiropractor who regulates the function of his nervous system. He is having great results. It is just one example of the great things diabetics can hope for with events such as this race…results.

    Thanks

Comments are closed.