Skip to content

The New Place.

July 9, 2009

I know I just wrote a couple of weeks ago about how actually nice living in New Jersey has been but, uh… have I mentioned I’m moving to New York?

Yeah, I know. I fail as a Jersey Girl. Somehow I think I’ll survive.

It’s true, though. My roommate has decided to move in with a friend from work and has left me with the option of either finding another roommate and staying in Hoboken, or moving to the Big City.

Here were the pros of living in Hoboken:
1. Cheap rent ($900) – FOR THE AREA! I realize $900 could actually afford me a 3-bedroom apartment in other cities, but for this area, $900 to share a 2 bedroom is AWESOME.
2. View of the Empire State Building. Not a whole lot of places get this view. It’s pretty sweet.
3. Quiet streets. It’s Hoboken, it’s more neighborhoody than New York City, so it’s a rare night I hear a cab or car honk.
4. It’s cute. Hoboken has a nice city feel without being too overwhelming. We have Indian, Thai, Malaysian, bistros, ice cream shops, delis and tons of bars. It has variety without being dramatic.
5. It’s still easily accessible by PATH train and bus. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the city by bus, and slightly longer with the PATH, but mostly because it takes me about 10-20 minutes just to get to the PATH station in the first place.

Here are the cons of Hoboken.
1. Upstairs Neighbors. OK, sure, they’re not having sex anymore (at least, not wall-banging loudly) but I can still here them. Often. It’s annoying.
2. Did I mention I can see the Empire State Building? Do you know what direction that is for me? EAST. Do you know where the sun comes from in the morning? EAST. Can you guess what time I wake up? DAWN.
3. Neighborhoods are nice but there’s only one of them.
4. Dude, it takes me sometimes an hour or more to get somewhere in NYC. And that’s WITH transfers, sometimes two or three or four. It’s annoying.
5. It takes longer for Erik to get to Hoboken on the train and when he drives in, he has to park for $20.

So here are the pros for NYC:
1. It’s New York City, yo.
2. I have more friends in NYC than I do in NJ, which means the likelihood of me seeing them more often increases.
3. Not directly facing the sun when I’m SLEEPING.
4. Ability to attend business networking events because I can stay out later since the trains/buses don’t stop so early and my commute isn’t as long (going home from the Village can take up to an hour).
5. I moved to the East Coast for Jersey? Say with me now: NO!

Cons of NYC:
1. Well, it is New York City.
2. It’s expensive. Everything is expensive. Water is expensive. I’m pretty sure they would charge for air if it wasn’t, like, immoral or something.
3. It’s kinda loud sometimes.
4. There’s a lot of people. That could get old.
5. Uh… I can’t think of a 5th con because….

I’M MOVING TO MANHATTAN!

Truth is, I already have an apartment. I’m moving to the Upper West Side at the end of this month and I’m saying sayonara to my two years of Jersey life. Of course, I’m not saying good-bye to Jersey for good. I still work at the same company and I still have to work from our Jersey office most of the time. But I’ve been given the flexibility to work from our midtown office twice a week! So on some days I will wake up in Manhattan, go to work in Manhattan, and go back to bed in Manhattan all in the same day! Very exciting stuff.

Of course, the drama is that I have all this stuff I’ve accumulated over the past couple of years, including a beautiful red couch, a dining table, coffee table, television, dishes, pots and pans and silverware. While there was some discussion about what on earth I was going to do with all of it – sell, dump, save? – at the end of the day, Erik and I decided we’d get a storage unit together – ooh! big step! – and move our mutual junk into one place. This way when/if we move in together in the near/far distant future, we won’t have to rebuy everything I/we already own. I mean, my couch is perfectly nice as it is. Why spend another $900 when this one was free? I mean, that’s just silly talk.

Next weekend sometime we’ll be moving stuff up to Rockland County (woot) and then two weeks after that, I’ll move my bedroom stuff into the new place.

I’m very excited.

If you’re nice, I might give you my new Manhattan address.

20 Comments
  1. July 9, 2009 11:33 PM

    Awesome! Especially the part about the mutual storage space😉 Can’t wait for photos of the new abode!

    • July 10, 2009 10:38 AM

      Yes! Forthcoming as soon as I, you know, move in and all.🙂 Wheee!

  2. cesnh permalink
    July 9, 2009 11:38 PM

    Congrats! It all sounds perfect.

  3. July 9, 2009 11:49 PM

    yay! congrats🙂 I admire you sooo much for making the move all the way out there. I really don’t think I could do it!! (i am a homebody :/) I admire people that can!! congrats!!

  4. July 9, 2009 11:50 PM

    ok i realized that didn’t exactly make sense, I admire the move you made 2 years ago, as well as this one, but you know what I mean!! ahh.. ok. haah

  5. July 10, 2009 8:27 AM

    Hey Allison, congratulations on the move! BTW, although the final location is still being determined, my company is also moving to Manhattan (although there’s a small possibility that could change, it looks pretty unlikely) … our lease in the suburbs is up in November, and 3 of the 4 places they’re considering are in midtown, although until the lease has been signed, I won’t start packing anything. I suspect my social life outside of work will benefit from working in town again!

    • July 10, 2009 10:38 AM

      OMG! Scott in midtown?!!! that would make my summer! We could be midtown lunch buddies! Woohoo!

  6. Katie permalink
    July 10, 2009 10:23 AM

    From one fellow Jersey girl to another, I say GOOD LUCK IN NYC!

    I’ve actually never been, isn’t that insane? I live in S. Jersey, so I suppose that gives me somewhat of an excuse, but STILL. Most people find it super ridiculous.

  7. July 10, 2009 10:25 AM

    I don’t even know if my last comment posted or not. Me and WordPress fight all day long. I usually lose.

    ANYWAY.

    Good luck in NYC! I’ve never been, and living in NJ that’s saying a lot. Though I am down in the South of the State so maybe that excuses me JUST a little.

    • July 10, 2009 10:39 AM

      Yeah, I have to approve comments from new peeps, so you’re all good here on forward. And thanks! I appreciate it. You should TOTALLY come the NYC blogger meet-up next month! Puh-leeze? We need to get you out of South Jerz.🙂

  8. July 10, 2009 10:29 AM

    1. It’s New York City, yo.

    nuff said. Congrats on the upgrade.

  9. July 10, 2009 11:28 AM

    I’m excited for you!😀

  10. July 13, 2009 1:41 PM

    Woot, Woot. Upper West side. I moved there in January and i’m a big fan🙂. Hope your move goes well

Trackbacks

  1. Dear July: Well, you haven’t screwed up yet. « Lemonade Life
  2. The Best of 2009 – Part One « Lemonade Life
  3. The Best of 2009: Part Two. « Lemonade Life
  4. Plodding My Way Through the Goals. « Lemonade Life
  5. The Big Move. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.