Skip to content

Dear July…

July 2, 2009

July is not my favorite month. I know it should be, with the sunny, warm (humid) weather, Fourth of July fireworks, barbeques, and skirts and sandals.

But it’s not. July is now my least favorite month because it’s the month where I have so much going on it drives me insane (if Erik can live with me through July, we can handle anything).

First, as most of you know, I’m going to Indianapolis at the end of the month for the Roche Summit. Fabulous right? Well, it also turns out I’m going to Chicago for BlogHer on behalf of one of my clients (I’m not actually going to the conference, but I’ll be in the area). After work is over, I’ll be spending Saturday and Sunday hanging out in Chi-town for a little mini-vacation (and possible meet-up! Stay tuned for details!).

Now, if this was it, I’d be set. Awesome plans, right?

Well, it turns out, I’m also moving. My roommate is moving out to live with someone else and while I could find another roommate, life in Hoboken isn’t exactly everything I imagined. My apartment is actually a lot further from the train station than initially imagined and it takes me about an hour to get a work each morning. Did I mention I work three miles away? Yeah, dude.

So I am moving. To New York City. Which makes sense because, yeah, I kinda moved across country to live there. Might as well do it now! I’m looking at apartments, feeling things out. Apartments are a bit more expensive than Hoboken, of course, but not astronomically. We’re talking $100-$150 more. Which won’t make a much of a difference because I won’t have to deal with car insurance because I’m….

SELLING MY CAR!

That’s right. My little red Ford Focus is going bye-bye. It’s been a great car, actually, but maintenance is a bitch and I’m glad I won’t have to worry about buying new tires anymore. Hello, subway system! So, in addition to Indianapolis, Chicago and finding an apartment, I’m also selling my car.

Oh yeah, and did I mention all the furniture I have in my apartment? Like my wonderful red couch? Probably going to say sayonara to that as well. Sigh. It sucks because it’s SUCH a nice couch but I really don’t think it’s smart to keep dragging it around with me. I may keep it in storage for awhile, but I’m still thinking about it. Ideally, I’ll find someone who will let me bring it, but it’s doubtful so we’ll see.

So that’s my July.

That’s why I hate July.

3 Comments
  1. July 2, 2009 12:20 PM

    Would love to meet up in Chicago! Let me know if you’re interested🙂

  2. July 2, 2009 12:31 PM

    I’d be up for a meet-up in Chicago, too! Let me know.

    (And while apartment hunting is a pain, think of how fabulous it will be in August when you’re living in the actual city that never sleeps!!!)

  3. July 2, 2009 12:52 PM

    Wow. You are busy. May and June are usually my busy months. But July is kind of being busy for me this year. We’ll see how it goes.😛
    All these changes are stressful, but exciting in then end I’m sure.🙂

Comments are closed.