Skip to content

Two Years.

June 18, 2009

Have you ever had a date circled on your calendar and you spend weeks anxiously waiting for that day, whether it’s a birthday or an anniversary, and then the day comes and you COMPLETELY forget that you were waiting for it to show up?

Well, this week that happened to me.

Last Sunday, while I was away in Minnesota, I passed the two year mark of living on the East Coast. Who knew?! The reason I found out was because one of the Executive Assistants here at work emailed me this morning to wish me a happy anniversary. That’s right – I started work at my company FOUR DAYS after moving across the country. That’s dedication, folks.

Having moved to New Jersey is certainly not something I ever expected to do. Planning on moving to New Jersey is like planning on moving to, I don’t know, Guam or something. It’s not really on someone’s “I NEED to live here list.” But honestly, it’s not so bad. I’m pretty close to New York City (well, helluva lot closer than when I lived in Oregon) and I’m close to other East Coast cities I love, like Boston and Philly. I still loathe humidity, and snow, and sales tax, but hey, I don’t have to pump my own gas! It’s also where I met Erik, who is, in my opinion, pretty awesome. New Jersey may not be the most attractive place to be in and around Newark Liberty International Airport, so I can see how people flying in and out think the Garden State is a misnomer, but drive just an hour north or south or even west and you’ll see some really pretty towns and countryside. And the people, while a little brash sometimes, mean well.

I’m not sure I’ll stay in New Jersey forever (oh God, please, no), but for right now it’s a nice place to be. At least until August. When my lease is up. And then, who knows, maybe I’ll actually make it to the Big City.

8 Comments
  1. Erik permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:55 AM

    Thank you, thank you; you’re pretty awesome too🙂

  2. Sarah S. permalink
    June 18, 2009 1:17 PM

    Whoa, big change on the blog template. Interesting.
    And congrats on two years in a state where you never thought you’d be living. From the sounds of it, New Jersey might be worth schlepping through once or twice🙂

  3. June 18, 2009 2:25 PM

    I think it’s cool that you are there. Cause it just gives me another excuse to make a trip to NY.🙂

  4. June 18, 2009 7:18 PM

    New Jersey’s a nice place if you get off the turnpike or off the parkway. I’ve spent too much time on those two highways!

  5. Bea permalink
    June 20, 2009 8:17 PM

    I drifted over from Scott’s blog and loved your bio and this piece. You can truly make lemonade from lemons in regard to being somewhere you didn’t expect and still able to give NJ it’s props! Wishing you continued success from a Minnesotan and pumper for three years, too.

  6. June 23, 2009 11:33 PM

    Hey hey — visitor from 20sb — sayin’ hello and yay for surviving NJ and thanks for complimenting the state (1 hr in any direction) *wink* … not many outsiders realize that there is much to see here. And South Jersey and North Jersey are COMPLETELY different too.

    Anyway, just stopping by. Off to read more of your Blg🙂

  7. Harry permalink
    July 3, 2009 8:17 PM

    Did you pump your own gas in Oregon? When we were there last summer, I wasn’t allowed to. Also, the fact that you can’t bag your own groceries in NJ is completely mind-boggling to me. (See? I took the route about commenting about something completely unrelated, as you suggested in your other post!)

    • July 3, 2009 9:55 PM

      Nope. I was 22 years old the first time I pumped my own gas, and that’s when I was in Pennsylvania. We also had people who bag our groceries in Oregon, but only at some of the stores. Usually the person who bags at the places I go to in NJ are the people who are ringing me up. But I usually get a headstart because I feel like most baggers use too many bags.

Comments are closed.