Skip to content

Tuesday Tidbits!

June 9, 2009

I was on a roll with the whole blogging everyday business, but the last couple of days have been crazy busy! My best friend from high school was in town and I played tour guide with her, her boyfriend, and my boyfriend. We saw quite a bit of Manhattan and boy were my feet tired! I’ll have a longer post tomorrow. Until then, here are some Tuesday tidbits:

  • My transmitter and charger came! I’m thrilled. Later this afternoon I’ll be hooking myself up and plugging myself in. I’m excited, but at the same time, very nervous to see the damage! Sigh.
  • My bike is almost here. I have decided to go with the Cannondale Quick 4, which isn’t a road bike, but it’s a light bike with straight handle bars that I’m comfortable riding, darnit! I actually did hop on a road bike when Erik and I went looking for bikes and man oh man was that awful! I swear, I thought I was going to topple over on and the fact that my hands were so far away from the breaks freaked me out. On top of that, riding with my hands further down, near the breaks, did not make it anymore comfortable than riding on flat handlebars, so I really couldn’t see the point. Maybe when I get used to riding again, but I’m sorry, I am not about to throw down $700 on something I may or may not end up liking. We’re picking the bike up either tonight, or sometime next week after I get back from Minnesota.
  • Two more days until Minnesota! The weather is supposed to be nice, and I’m looking forward to getting away and spending time with Erik’s family (we’re going to a family wedding) and seeing some of my awesome blogger friends! Yay!
  • I’m thinking about buying this J.Crew dress – only in Pacific Blue (the dark blue color). Thoughts? I like it, I think it’s pretty and comfortable, but I’m not sure how it’d look on me. It also fits my new wardrobe ideal which is pretty much sophisticated classics, but mixed with some fun color. It’s pretty much my motto going into any purchase. Also, if it’s something I feel I would have worn in college, I’m not buying it. Time to embrace the older, more mature Allison. I mean, c’mon, I’m going to be twenty-four in less than two months!
  • Lastly, I have decided that I pretty much only like New York City in September. Why? THUNDERSTORMS. Dear God, the thunderstorms. First, I was freezing from, like, November through, uh, last week. Now that it’s warming up, I am suffering with thunderstorms. It woke me up at 2:00 in the morning. And the worst thing about it is that unlike Upstairs Neighbor there’s nothing I can do about it! I can’t even write angry letters and pound on the door! UGH! NOT FAIR!
  • 3 Comments
    1. June 9, 2009 9:34 PM

      I agree.

      September is a great NYC month.

      All the other ones kind of blow.

    2. June 10, 2009 10:54 AM

      Have fun on your trip!
      I keep telling myself to buy more mature, grown-up clothes…but I feel like a little kid playing dress up when I try them on. LOL
      I’m working on it though.
      As for the weather, you can yell angry things at the sky… it might help.😛

    3. June 12, 2009 2:37 AM

      congrats on the bike!!!
      i just got a new bike too – also a hybrid (schwinn world gs, several people in the store recommended it). i also thought about a road bike but decided to go with hybrid – i think comfort goes WAY over speed. and the speed difference isn’t that huge if you have a nice new hybrid with gears, and you aren’t racing. being comfortable enough to train a lot and WANT to ride your bike will give you more practice which will make you faster anyways (and more comfortable)! i went back to your old post about the decision – i think it’s ridiculous anyone would say you’ll regret 30-60 miles on a hybrid – you won’t. i did 23 on mine today just commuting to and from work and seeing a friend, and it was totally fine.

    Comments are closed.