Skip to content

Oh-So-Close CGM

June 4, 2009

A few months ago, I lost the charger for my transmitter. For those of you unfamiliar with the Minimed CGM system, there are four components: the sensors (which are little sets that you change every so often), the transmitter (which is clipped onto the sensor and which you reuse, because it houses your blood sugars), the inserter (which is a bigger version of the inserter used for pump sets) and the charger (which keeps the transmitter powered).

The transmitter has an internal battery, not AAA batteries like my pump, so I have to charge my transmitter every time I change the sensor. Without a charger, the transmitter eventually stops working.

Guess how much Minimed charges to buy a new charger?

A hundred and fifty buckaroos.

!!!

When I spoke to the lady at Minimed, she told me that if I couldn’t find my charger, I could wait until June when my warranty ran out. When my warranty ran out, my insurance company (in this case, United Healthcare) would most likely pay for me to get an entirely new system – transmitter and charger together. Not really necessary since my transmitter works just fine, but I thought, if that means I don’t have to shell out $150 for a piece of blue plastic, I’m all for it.

When does my warranty run out, you ask.

June 1.

Guess what month it is?

So I gave Minimed a call yesterday and I was all, “Yo, I need a new charger! Here’s all my info.” And they were like, “Yo! You need to talk to this other person.” So I was like, “OK.” Transfer “Yo! I need a new charger! Here’s all my info the last person asked me for and now you’re asking me for” “Yo! You need to talk to this other person.” Ahem. OK. Transfer “Yo! I really need a new charger! Here’s all my info that the first and second person asked for. Are you sure I shouldn’t just email the entire department with my address, birthday, phone number, social security number and the name of my first pet? Would that save time?” ”

Finally, I got in the hands of someone who could help me, and who said that he set me up with what I needed.

I got another call this afternoon from Erin (hi Erin!), the same representative who helped me out last fall when I went on the CGM, and she told me that it was likely United Healthcare would approve the new CGM (hallelujah!) and that we were just waiting confirmation. I should hear something in the next day or two. But I am thinking everything is set and I should be CGM-bound once again sometime mid next week, just in time for my trip to Minnesota so I can finally show off the Minimed CGM system to people once again. You have no idea how embarrassing it is to have people ask if you’re on the CGM and have to say, “Well… kind of…”

And no, I didn’t ask about the $3,024.50 charge that I’m still getting from Minimed because United Healthcare can’t get their act together. I’m at the point where I don’t care anymore. It’s not like there’s a warrant out for my arrest or anything, so as long as they don’t come asking for my insulin pump, I couldn’t care less.

4 Comments
  1. June 4, 2009 8:09 PM

    gah! I absolutly HATE being transfered all around the freaking company!

    At least you got it taken care of! woo hoo!

  2. sandibug permalink
    July 30, 2009 9:32 AM

    I’ve lost my charger this week!! Im having the same problem! Im in a sticky situation and no money to pay for my supplies and my ins will not pay bescause i have a two thousand dollar deductable!!!

    • July 30, 2009 9:54 AM

      I actually just recently found my original charger, so now I have two. If you’d like me to send mine to you, please email me.

Trackbacks

  1. Tuesday Tidbits! « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.