Skip to content

The List.

June 3, 2009

I’ve discovered one more thing that makes me feel like I’m a New Yorker.

Being on a list.

Last week, I saw a girl I follow on Twitter, @jvettorino, tweet about a contest to win tickets to see Mandy Moore in New York City. I have been a Mandy Moore fan since high school. I loved her last 2 albums, which were a stark departure from her bubble-gum pop persona.

Of course, I immediately clicked over to the website, The Round Table, and looked up what the deal was. This music blog was giving away 5 tickets to see a show that you could otherwise only get into if you bought Mandy’s CD and were one of the first 200 people at the door. I followed the instructions on the three ways you could enter: leaving a comment, tweeting the post and putting a link up on my Facebook page.

On Monday morning, I anxiously waited to find out who won. I even sent a DM to Jackie, asking her when they were going to be announced. Less than an hour later and I found out I was one of the winners! Me and one guest were going to see Mandy Moore in concert for free! Jackie told me they were sending my name to the organizers and that I’d “be on the list.”

The next day (yesterday), Erica and I met at Union Square, grabbed a quick dinner at The Diner – a cute restaurant on the corner of 14th and Ninth that had good food, cheap margaritas and loud music, then walked over to the Highline Ballroom. After security checked our IDs, we went upstairs to the venue. At the top was a group of incredibly blond, pretty girls who were there to check names and take tickets.

“I’m on the list,” I said. I gave them my name, but I could see it on the sheet (being at the beginning of the alphabet helps) and pointed it out for the girls. They crossed my name off The List and Erica and I went in.

“I love being on a list!” I said.

Soon after, Mandy and her band, a guitarist and keyboardist, came on stage. Mandy wasn’t terribly talkative, but she was sweet and interacted with the crowd occasionally, and joked around with the other guys in the band. You could tell she really enjoyed performing her music, and the keyboardist and guitarist were clearly having a great time too, jamming and rocking out as Mandy sang.

IMG_0638

At one point, the crowd joined in with Mandy during her song “I Could Break Your Heart.” Although I hadn’t heard the song before, it was pretty easy to catch on to the “Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday…” of the chorus.

The Round Table has a couple of videos online so you can watch it too!

Although the performance was short (only last for an hour), it was very enjoyable and I can’t wait to purchase her CD on iTunes (that’s why I didn’t buy it from Best Buy and get in that way – I really don’t understand why they still make CDs).
Hopefully this won’t be the last time I’m on a List. It’s fun!

2 Comments
  1. June 3, 2009 3:05 PM

    Glad you enjoyed the show!😉

  2. June 4, 2009 2:23 PM

    I love Mandy. She’s my favorite.

Comments are closed.