Skip to content

At the CBS Early Show.

June 2, 2009

A few weeks ago, I saw a post from Manny Hernandez on Twitter about diabetics needed at the CBS Early Show on June 2 (today). Living so close to NYC (and working a mere 10 blocks from the studio), I thought it would be a great opportunity so show my support and hang out with a bunch of others who suppor the D cause. I was really excited to see Lee Ann and Brenda, and may even get on TV!

Waking up at 5:45 a.m., however, was not something I was looking forward to. Ick. But I managed to drag myself out of bed, get myself dressed, run out the door, run back to my apartment when I realized I forgot my iPhone, run back out the door, get cash, get change for bus fare from Dunkin Donuts, take the bus, take the subway and walk six blocks to the Early Show all within an hour. Whew! It’s a good thing I know my way around the subway system!

Once I arrived, I met up with Brenda, followed by Lee Ann and Katie from the young women’s diabetes support group. We grabbed our T-shirts and markers to write our words on our hand. I picked “purpose” because I feel like diabetes has given me so much purpose in my life.

EarlyShow

Katie, Lee Ann and me.

There were so many people there, actually, so it was difficult to get to the front of the rope. Then they asked some of us to go stand on the other side, but it was the side where they were only going to film for one segment – and I had to leave for work before the segment was filmed! Darn! But Cara reports that Lee Ann got on TV, so that’s exciting. I am just happy that we – the royal we – were able to get on TV and show the country our signs and our T-shirts. That was totally worth it. Plus, seeing the hosts of the Early Show and watching how they put together segments are pretty cool too, and hanging out with my D-buddies is always worth it! So I’m OK that I didn’t get on TV.

This time.

4 Comments
  1. June 2, 2009 1:27 PM

    So awesome! I’ll have to look for clips of Lee Ann on You Tube or something!

  2. tmana permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:33 PM

    They finally got to our area for the last segment, when they were making all these egg dishes…

  3. June 2, 2009 3:34 PM

    That’s how I spotted Lee Ann….she was standing behind the guy doing the egg dishes.🙂

  4. June 2, 2009 4:49 PM

    It was awesome to hang out with you, Katie and Brenda – and cruel of them to create deviled eggs and frittatas so close to us since none of us had eaten breakfast! I so wanted some samples😀

Comments are closed.