Skip to content

Hunk of Junk.

May 29, 2009

On Wednesday I wrote how last summer my car broke down twice.

The first time was when I took my car in to get my side-view mirror placed. I accidentally backed up too close to a pillar in our parking garage and whoops! Ducked tape only worked for so long before it would go flying off into the wind if you looked at it wrong. So I finally went in one morning to get it replace.

SIX HOURS LATER and I was finally allowed to leave, having had my tires replaced, transmission oil changed, and some silly part of my axles that had apparently snapped in half causing a very bumpy ride at high-speeds (and by high I mean anything over 40 mph). I think I also had to pay $12 to have some stupid screw replaced.

Then, two weeks later, while driving home from Boston, my ignition broke. Literally. I put the key in and nothing happened. No, I don’t mean the starter, I mean that actual ignition column would not turn no matter how much pushing I did. I’m surprised I didn’t snap my key in half. Apparently, my key was so worn down that my ignition didn’t recognize it, causing the whole thing to freeze and lock up. But I couldn’t get my key out, so the whole thing needed to be scraped. I got a new ignition column and two shiny new keys.

Now I’m faced with another conundrum. My car has been having a rough time accelerating every so often. Usually this happens when I try to speed up quickly, but other times it’s simply when I’m getting on the freeway. Which is NOT the time you want your car to choke up. I’ve made an appointment to get it looked at this afternoon. I plan on throwing as much money as it takes for this car to be in tip-top shape. Then do you know what I’m going to do?

I’M GOING TO SELL THE DAMN THING.

Seriously, half my credit card debt is from that stupid hunk of metal. I don’t use it enough, certainly not now when I have a boyfriend with a shiny red Subaru he’s in love with (it’s true, don’t deny it), and I take public transportation to and from work because parking in my town is next to impossible unless you like parking eight blocks from where you live.

I’m not going to buy another car. I’m simply going to sell and move on! When the car works, it works. It was perfectly fine last week and it has taken me all around the East Coast. Aside from a few worn-down parts, nothing actually is wrong with the car. Not the engine, not the transmission, not the alternator. Even the air conditioning works! I’m just frustrated that I spend $115 each month on insurance for a car I use maybe twice a month – if that! – as a matter of convenience. Not because I actually need it.

I’ll probably keep it for a couple more weeks so I can get my annual eye exam done and then it’s sayonara!

5 Comments
  1. May 29, 2009 2:31 PM

    I don’t blame you! You live in an area w/ tons of public transportation…why drive?🙂 Good luck selling it. And w/ all that money you’ll be saving, you can rent a car if you need to.🙂

  2. May 29, 2009 6:23 PM

    I’m with Cara – just make sure you leave the $115 insurance money in your budget; for cabs and/or rental cars. And just think, no more paying to park!

    • May 29, 2009 8:31 PM

      I actually don’t pay to park. My car is happily living in my parking garage at work… which is free. And last year I paid for a resident parking permit, and although I haven’t renewed, I still have the sticker! So I occasionally park in town for free. But I don’t have the insurance and I won’t have gas either. Zipcar is also really popular where I live and they’re pretty reasonable so I’m looking for to taking advantage of that.

  3. June 1, 2009 12:27 PM

    I have a lot of problems with my car but I don’t want to get rid of it just yet. I need to save more money up first. However now is the time to buy a car so I’m torn that I won’t get a great deal like I would now. I wish I didn’t NEED a car but unfortunatly I have to have one right now.

    Oh btw I live in Monmouth County near the shore. Is that near you?

    • June 1, 2009 12:53 PM

      I live in Hoboken, so… kinda.🙂 If you’re looking to buy a shiny red ’00 Ford Focus, let me know!

Comments are closed.