Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Richard.

May 28, 2009

Today is my uncle Richard’s birthday. But he won’t get to celebrate it. Last night, he passed away after a year and half long battle with cancer.

Richard is my mother’s middle brother. He is survived by his wife, Nancy, his children, Corri and Spencer, his son-in-law, Michael, grandchildren, Aiden and Laura, his siblings, Larry and Caren, his siblings-in-law, Jeanne and David, his nieces and nephews, Lauren, Bryon, Eric and Allison, his nephew-in-law, Gabe, and most importantly, his mother, Lois. He is also survived by his wife Nancy’s family.

I didn’t know Richard very well. He lived in California with his family, while I grew up in Oregon. But I saw him during family reunions and when he and Nancy would come to drop off or pick up my cousins Spencer and Corri when we visited our grandmother. He was a nice man who worked hard and loved his family. I remember he liked to laugh.

Instead of dwelling on his passing, I wanted to write a short memorial and wish him one more happy birthday.

happy-birthday

If you’d like to make a donation in my uncle’s name to the American Cancer Society, please do so here.

Thanks.

7 Comments
  1. May 28, 2009 12:39 PM

    I’m so sorry to hear about your uncle. Cancer is such a horrible, horrible disease. I pray your family experiences comfort in this time.

  2. May 28, 2009 12:49 PM

    Oh my gosh Allison, I am so sorry to hear about your uncle. I will pray for you and your family. Take care.

  3. May 28, 2009 1:59 PM

    Allison, I’m so sorry. I just lost my own uncle/godfather this week, so I know where you’re coming from. I’ll be thinking of you and your family.

  4. May 28, 2009 2:47 PM

    My condolences to you and your family, Allison.

  5. May 28, 2009 3:09 PM

    Thanks, everyone. I appreciate your thoughts and prayers. It’s great to be a part of such a caring community.

  6. May 28, 2009 10:47 PM

    Sorry about your loss, Allison. I think that’s a wonderful tribute. ((hugs))

  7. May 29, 2009 12:54 PM

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Uncle. To be honest, as much as I hate diabetes, I know I hate cancer more. My thoughts are with you and your family.

Comments are closed.