Skip to content

TGTWIFO!!!!

May 8, 2009

Thank Goodness The Week Is Finally OVER!!!!

This week has been a week of madness in Casa Blass. Mostly good stuff, just very busy. Lots of work projects, personal projects, dinners, meet-ups and unfortunate sleep disturbances. Here are some bullets to tide us over until Monday:

  • On Monday, Erik and I had the chance to have dinner with Caroline and Ian! They weren’t engaged when we had dinner and I had NO IDEA but it’s so cool, so congratulations to them. I dragged the crew to Queen of Sheba on 10th Avenue in Hell’s Kitchen. Fellow D-blogger Sri introduced me to the place way back in the fall of 2007, shortly after I first moved here. Yet I had NEVER gone back. I finally seized the opportunity with this dinner and everyone enjoyed themselves, so mission: success! Seriously, if you’re in NYC and looking to try something new, try Ethiopian. It’s yum-tastic! We had a great time getting to know Ian, talking about places we’ve been to around Europe and the United States, differences between America and England (of course!) and weird culturally unique foods (google Marmalite). The only part of the night we actually talked about diabetes was when we tried to figure out many carbs are in the Ethiopian rice bread!
  • On Tuesday night, after a long day at work, I took the subway to the Upper West Side where I chilled with the Type 1 Diabetics Meet-up group at Artie’s Deli. Our last meet-up was held on Passover and not many people came, so we joked that we should have our next one at a Jewish deli so no one would have an excuse not to come! But Artie’s is really good to. It was actually the first NYC Jewish deli I went to when I came to New York in March 2007, a couple of months before I officially moved here. We chatted about pumps, airport security, carb counting, and our favorite neighborhoods in NYC. Good times had by all.
  • TMI alert: So, some of you may have seen me tweet about my Upstairs Neighbor who likes to have loud you-know-what with his girlfriend. For months, it seemed to mostly happen in the late evening, between 9 and 11 p.m. It was weird, having never listened to people having you-know-what in the next apartment, but it didn’t really disturb me and it was pretty easy to cover it up with the heater, music or simply leaving the room.

    A couple weeks ago, though, Upstairs Neighbor got the idea that having you-know-what was a good idea at one o’clock in the morning. The you-know-what, involving a squeaking bed, a banging headboard and a very, very vocal young woman, woke me up. I was so disturbed that I wrote a nice note, left it at their doorstep and knocked very loudly, letting them know they woke me up. Since then, I hadn’t heard anything aside from the occasional footsteps. I thought I was safe. I was wrong.

    Last night, having a conversation with Erik about Upstairs Neighbor and the you-know-what, I realized I had probably jinxed myself. I was right. At 4:30 a.m., my Upstairs Neighbor and his girlfriend woke me up yet again. I wrote another note, banged a little harder, and went back to bed. But I didn’t stop there. The next morning, after I got dressed, brushed my teeth and put on my make-up, I went upstairs and knocked on their door once again. It took a few tries, but Upstairs Neighbor finally opened the door. He knew immediately who I was, and without going into details, he was very apologetic about the whole thing, saying they thought they were quieter this time. Neverminding the fact it was four-thirty in the morning, I told him that no, in fact, it wasn’t quieter and that their mattress is a lot squeakier than they think.

    Hopefully by showing up on his doorstep I have sufficiently embarrassed him into you-know-what silence, at least during the middle of the night. I appreciate you-know-what instincts as much as the next red-blooded human, but seriously man. Get a grip! Believe you me, he’ll be getting notes and morning visits from me until he knocks that crap off.

  • Guess what I get to do this weekend? I’M SEEING STAR TREK ON IMAX! I AM SO EXCITED. I am a HUGE Trekkie, and have been since I was a wee little lass, so I’m really excited about seeing the latest movie, especially on IMAX. I’ve never seen a Hollywood movie on IMAX before (all movies that have eventually been released on IMAX are ones I’d seen in the theater, so I didn’t see much point). We’re going with Erik’s sister and her husband, and then we’re coming back to his apartment for dinner. Hopefully the weather will stay nice because after this week, I could use a little sunshine.

    Hope everyone has a marvelous weekend!

  • 4 Comments
    1. May 8, 2009 1:41 PM

      Oh my word! I dunno what I would do about a loud neighbor. I think you handled it well, but geez. I’d be so embarrassed if everyone could hear me doing you-know-what so loudly.

    2. May 8, 2009 2:10 PM

      You have the not-so-discreet upstairs neighbor. Kerri has Shoes.
      Ahh, gotta love neighbors.

    3. May 8, 2009 2:44 PM

      Ian and I really enjoyed dinner on Monday, so thanks for taking us there. With all that has happened this week, it already feels like a lifetime ago! When I saw you on Monday I also didn’t know I’d be engaged the following day! Sooooo exciting, I still cannot stop grinning!

    Trackbacks

    1. Tuesday Tidbits! « Lemonade Life

    Comments are closed.