Skip to content

Things you find in my closet (a.k.a. GIVEAWAY!)

April 29, 2009

This past Friday night, in a surge of a psychotic midnight cleaning craving, I decided to attack the monsters that live in my closet. Also know as, a bunch of crap I’ve been collecting over the past two years with all the conferences and stuff that people give me.

Most of the stuff was pretty ridiculous. I found a sweater that had lost both of its buttons (making it entirely unwearable), some shirts that really just needed to be hung up on hanger (duh…) and three bags of conference crap that no one uses and kills trees.

I also found a bag full of diabetes goodies that I had collected during my ill-fated attempt at the OC New Me Challenge.I thought to myself, “What to do… what to do…” I could hoard away all these goodies and be selfish and keep them for myself. Muahahaha… But then I thought, “Hey! I could give this stuff away to people with diabetes who want-slash-need this stuff!” I mean, that’s what Jesus would do. If Jesus was a diabetic blogger, that is. Which he TOTALLY would be.

I’ve decided that for the next several weeks, I will be doing a series of TOTALLY AWESOME GIVEAWAYS that people will be talking about across the blogosphere. It’ll be great! I’m not going to give away everything at once, because what fun would that be? I’m also not going to give away everything every week, because shipping is expensive and dude, did you read my last post? I’m broke.

Are you ready for the fabulous first ever Lemonade Life giveaway? You don’t have to say anything, I can sense your excitement from here…

This week, I’m giving away two things (one big, one small) to ONE lucky Lemonade Life reader. The first item isn’t technically something from my bag of tricks. It is a diabetes glucose meter bag from Stick Me Designs. Rickina, the founder and designer, sent one to me a few weeks ago in the Floral Flambe flavor.

photo-5

It took me bloody forever to start using this bag, but now that I use it, I kinda like it! It’s has a spot for your glucose meter and strips, and three other elastic bands to hold things like lancing devices and insulin pens.

photo-7

I don’t actually use the bands to hold my lancet. Instead, I stick it in the pocket directly behind the glucose meter. It also has two inner pockets where you could put contact info or money or something… but I just use it to house dead babies (a.k.a. used test strips). It’s also has some zippered pockets that are stretchy enough to fit a JUICE BOX. Seriously, what glucose meter bag do you know that fits a JUICE BOX? Right? It’s perfect for when I go to the gym because now I don’t have to carry around my purse and look weird.
photo-3

The winner of this item will get to choose which design they would like from the Stick Me Design cases collection.

The second item I’m giving away is an awesome Accu-Check Spirit glucose tablet holder keychain! Never misplace your glucose tablets again! Unless you lose your keys… It holds 4 glucose tablets and it’s purple. What more could you want?

photo-6

How to enter? Easy! Just leave a comment telling me how you currently carry around your glucose meter and why it sucks and/or why the Stick Me Design case would be way awesomer. Or just say hi. Either way. Comments are due by Tuesday, May 5th at 10:00 p.m. EST.

I will select the winner using Random.org and announce the winner next Wednesday, May 6th.

Now go forth and comment!

No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited (like, the moon).

15 Comments
  1. April 29, 2009 9:27 AM

    Um Hi!😀
    I carry my meter around in my old black bag it came with. It sucks cause it’s black. And I like colors. Lots of colors.
    As for glucose tabs…. I carry them in a baggie in my purse. It’s annoying when you’re looking for them and can’t find them cause they’ve fallen to the bottom along w/ all of the random used test strips, loose change, chapstick and your keys.😛

  2. April 29, 2009 9:52 AM

    Oh, I totally want a stickme designs bag! I’m using a makeup bag now. But it’s covered in blood stains. And old. Time for a new method.

  3. April 29, 2009 12:01 PM

    I won one of Rickina’s bags in this past fall’s Diabetes Mine contest. I usually like the idea of the black case because it’s obviously Medical And Important — but this one means I don’t need to carry a separate wallet. Which is a Very Good Thing since I already carry around Way Too Much. And since it’s a wallet it’s likely to be opened in an emergency… thereby exposing my diabetic status. So… not a contest entry, just a “me too” shout.

  4. April 29, 2009 12:47 PM

    Great idea Allison! Being a guy, I am limited to what I carry because i don’t have a purse. And no I don’t have a man bag either. I refuse to use a fanny pack. For travel or when I’m going for a full day, I will A) give my meter pouch (BD stock carrying case) to my wife, or B) during the summer I may put it in a cargo pocket in my shorts. I hate having bulky things in my pockets.

    If I am only going to be gone for a little while, I typically do not carry my meter around. i will test right before I leave.

    I really like the designs.
    Cheers!

  5. April 29, 2009 1:22 PM

    Um, yeah, I often carry around my diabetes crap in a Ziplock bag. I am not kidding. I have about 5 people who can vouch for me on that one. Either that, or I stick everything (BG meter, money, credit cards etc) in my meter case. Since I broke my ribs and collarbone, I have gotten in the habit of stuffing everything in my pockets: cell phone, CGM, symlin pen, bg meter, keys, gel, quarters for the bus. I think I look suspicious with those bulging pockets, and this may be tough once it gets a little warmer. (Oh right, that doesn’t happen in San Francisco.)

    Here’s what I brought with me to work today (note bulging meter case): http://flickr.com/gp/annetics/D4t1zS I need to do a pump infusion site change at some point–hence, the Ziplock with insuilin etc.

    I usually stuff an energy gel in my pocket or maybe some skittles somewhere, which is sort of annoying since the red skittles bag flakes off and gets bits o’ red everywhere. And those gel packs are slippery and often find themselves on the floor!

    I buy Ziplock bags not for sandwiches, but for diabetes supplies. I use the really big bags for traveling. I could use an upgrade!!🙂 The Stick Me Design bags look really fantastic and would create a bit of order in my chaotic diabetes world!

    Oh and hi Allison! I should be so inspired to clean out my closet…

    -Anne

  6. Autumn permalink
    April 29, 2009 2:08 PM

    I too, use the standard meter bag from OneTouch. It is carried around in my purse along with a roll of gluscose tabs. I enjoyed seeing the photos of how you actually use it. I might order one myself now. I think you should give it away to the ziplock lady.

  7. April 29, 2009 2:53 PM

    I use a little makeup bag that I picked up at Walmart. It’s probably about the size of one of those bags from StickMeDesigns, but without the cool elastics and pockets!

  8. cesnh permalink
    April 29, 2009 3:54 PM

    Hmmm, I’m with Autumn – ziplock Anne needs it – I looked at the photo!

  9. Randee permalink
    April 29, 2009 4:19 PM

    I use the boring black bag it came with, but it does not have room for a juice box! That is the single best idea I have seen for a bag that does not go anywhere without me. The other reason I would love one like that, is that, while the T1 can be a pain, it can be made better (& more fun) with cool little bags that are fun colours! Awesome idea!

  10. Lisette permalink
    April 29, 2009 7:10 PM

    Aww adorable bag!! I myself don’t carry a glucose meter, but my mother does, she would LOVE that cute purple container.😀

  11. Wendy permalink
    April 29, 2009 7:12 PM

    Let me see, I currently carry the meter thrown in a pocket of shorts or pants. Whatever I am wearing.

  12. Nicole permalink
    April 29, 2009 8:00 PM

    Like many others, my glucose meter bag is black. As is my computer bag. As is my purse. I don’t have a problem with black. I do have a problem with the shadows black causes. When I’m digging in all of the corners in my computer bag and can’t find my meter…when I have my husband look. When we can’t find it and look in the car before heading to the office to see if I left my meter there…only to discover that it was right where it was supposed to be, hiding in the shadows and, apparently, invisible, too. In short: Please, please, please pick me!

  13. Melissa permalink
    April 30, 2009 11:15 AM

    Two weeks ago I spilt orangeade all over my meter case, and all over my meter. They both eventually dried out, but now my poor wee case has had a strange sticky feel to it ever since.
    My glucose tablets usually just hang about in my bag, somewhere. I really ought to find a proper thing to carry them in, the end one always ends up having suspicious marks all over it, so it gets thrown in the bin.
    :]

  14. April 30, 2009 5:47 PM

    I use an OmniPod, which means my tester and pump are together in one gigandotastic device, which I carry around in the original case. The case was at one point black, but now after being carried everywhere for years and going through many, many, many washings, it’s a kind of dullish gross-out gray, with miscellaneous food (and probably blood) stains. So, ick! I could definitely use a new and improved case.

  15. Lizzie permalink
    May 4, 2009 2:52 PM

    I got tired of the standard black bag and now all my supplies roam around in my purse or my backpack. I’m a poor college student just trying not to stick out like a sore thumb by looking all medical-ish…

Comments are closed.