Skip to content

It’s a zoo out there!

April 21, 2009

The crazy thunderstorm that wreaked havoc on the tri-state area last night might convince outsiders that the weather lately has been terrible. But not so! This weekend was absolutely spectacular, with sunny blue skies and temperatures hovering in the low 70s. For a rain-soaked northeast just begging for some relief, the spring-like weekend was a welcomed respite.

Erik and I decided to take advantage of the weather and an open schedule by crossing off another item on my 101 Things list (it’s listed down at #97) – we went to the zoo! Visiting the Bronx Zoo has been something I’ve wanted to do since I moved here, but for some reason, I never got around to it.

For the first pleasant weekend of the season, the zoo was not too crowded. We waited in line for about twenty minutes at the entrance, but once inside there were only a few busy areas (namely, around the food stands!). It only took a few minutes before we were able to get close the fence or barricades to see the animals.

We started off in the African safari area. We saw some peacocks from a distance, followed by zebras. Then we spotted a giraffe, followed by another one, and another one… There were a total of six, just chilling out.

zoogiraffe

Peacocks made another appearance on the other side of the giraffe area. There were two of them wandering around. They are actually quite speedy! And they like to turn around, and let me tell you, their backside is just as unpleasant as it sounds.

zoopeacock

Isn’t she pretty?

We also some some big kitty cats.

zoosnowleopard

We saw the snow leopard jump four feet into the air as it attacked a poor, innocent bird that had unknowingly tempted a hungry kitty.

The lion also attracted a lot of attention in the India exhibit area.

zoolion

Big kitty.

We also visited with some grizzly bears and polar bears who were frolicking around, enjoying the good weather too. The polar bear was playing with a giant plastic disc, jumping on it like a child would with a swim toy.

zoopolarbear

One grizzly bear cooled off in the pool, while the other one strolled about.

zoobear

We also checked out the monkeys and bison before swinging around and walking back towards the entrance. Surprisingly, the zoo closes at 5:30 on weekends (5:00 during the week), which I thought was a bit early. I could see closing early during the colder season, but I wonder if their hours expand during the summer, especially with evenings being a much cooler, more pleasant time to be outside during the hot, humid summer weather. If you’re in the New York area, I definitely recommend visiting the Bronx Zoo.

4 Comments
  1. Cammy permalink
    April 21, 2009 10:41 AM

    Great pics Allison! We are heading to the Roger Williams Park Zoo in Providence this weekend. Right near the Bronx Zoo is the Botanical Gardens. If you have never gone, I highly recommend it. We went last year for Mother’s Day. The only downside was the rose garden was not in bloom at that time.

  2. April 21, 2009 10:42 AM

    Our zoo closes early all year too. But we’ve stopped going for the summer. It’s just too hot!! We only go in the Winter/Fall/early Spring.

  3. April 21, 2009 2:10 PM

    I visited the Bronx Zoo recently, too. I’m going to post about it soon once all my pics are ready. (They’re on my Mac desktop in NYC right now, and I’m in Texas).

    Good times.

  4. April 26, 2009 12:35 PM

    Allison, not sure if I will be safe after this, (fortunately I am out of reach for you) but in the animal kingdom the male is the beautiful one, so the peacock is not a she, it is a he…🙂 Great photographs none the less.
    Colin.
    Ps, you are welcome to point out my mistakes on my blog…I am sure you will find plenty…*sweet smile*

Comments are closed.