Skip to content

Chocolate is good for you.

April 13, 2009

Here’s what giving up chocolate for 46 days has taught me.

I really, REALLY like chocolate.

Although many people thought me crazy, I managed to succeed in giving up chocolate for Lent, crossing off yet another item on my 101 Things list. It was definitely a challenging experiment. While it didn’t exactly help me loose weight, I’ve certainly learned a new appreciation for Nature Valley granola bars, vanilla ice cream with rainbow sprinkles, and caramel light frappuccinos from Starbucks.

When I had my first Caffe Mocha at Starbucks on Sunday morning, I was shocked by how chocolatey it was. There was almost no coffee flavor to it. I actually thought to myself, “I’m not sure I like this…”

I have spent many Easter Sundays on my own. My first Easter in college was spent with Clare Rosenfeld’s (a childhood friend from camp and also a diabetes advocate) family, who happened to live in the same town I went to college. On other Easters, I spent going to church with my college friends and then going to lunch. One Easter I spent with my parents. Last year, I was in Boston with my mother on Easter.

This year was Erik’s and my first Easter together. Unfortunately, we didn’t really do anything festive. The grocery stores were wiped out of pretty much everything by the time we thought about it. We did manage to hunt down Cadburry eggs – only took us three stores to find some! We also bought each other sappy Easter cards.

To celebrate my success with Lent, we of course needed to go to the chocolate Mecca of New York City: Max Brenners. Aside from Erik, I have only ever been to Max Brenners with diabetics, which just proves that “diabetics can’t eat chocolate” is make believe. We were responsible and started off with their brunch menu, and then split a dessert at the end. We ordered their Banana Split Waffle, which came with two small waffles with slices of banana covered with chocolate, and a side of vanilla ice cream with warm melted chocolate and a side of strawberries and blueberries with chocolate sauce.

For your viewing pleasure…

dsc_1298_888

DEE-lish. And totally bolus worthy.

We decided to burn off some of the calories (and carbohydrates!) by going for a walk down to Washington Square Park, which was a mere 10 blocks away.

dsc_1309_899

The walk turned out unnecessary. Ironically, my blood sugar was actually quite high at lunch due to a set gone bad. I gave myself what I imagined was the needed insulin and went on my merry way. “If I go low, I go low, if I go high, I’ll treat,” I said. Guess what happened? I went low! When we got back to Erik’s car (yes, we drove into the city – parking is free on Sunday!), I felt a little funny and tested. Giggling, I turned showed Erik my meter, which proudly displayed a 71 mg/dl. Then, of course, rebounded once the fat from lunch subsided and the sugar was allowed to hit my system full-force. Hello 418 mg/dl! Sigh.

The weather held itself together well, especially since it has rained and snowed (!) in the past week. Although it was a bit chilly (I was fine wearing my red peacoat, but would not want to take it off) and quite breezy, there was not a cloud in the sky. Like a couple other bloggers I read, we snagged some photos of the trees beginning to bloom, proving that spring is definitely in the air, despite what our thermostat might say.

_dsc1314_904

dsc_1321_911

It was a wonderful way to welcome in Spring! What did you do for Easter (or during the weekend, if you’re not of the Easter persuasion?

6 Comments
  1. April 13, 2009 3:06 PM

    I had a church Easter egg hunt on Saturday which I had a booth to let kids decorate sugar cookies (all 500 of them!). On Sunday morning was church, followed by time with a friend and her brand new baby girl and then dinner w/ my dad and brother. A good weekend all the way around.
    I love the pictures of NY in the spring. A season I’ve yet to visit the city….I’ll have to work on that.🙂

  2. April 13, 2009 3:40 PM

    Congratulations on succeeding! I gave up chocolate for Lent as a teenager. I still remember how much more I appreciated chocolate when I resumed eating it.

    We get a four day weekend for Easter in the UK. The weather has been miserable so I seized the opportunity to do a major spring clean and also buy a new washing machine since the old one keeps leaking water all over the floor. Not very exciting, but it had to be done!

  3. April 13, 2009 6:39 PM

    Wow… I totally have to visit Max Brenners the next time I get to NYC! Or maybe make a special trip… mmmmmm

  4. April 13, 2009 6:54 PM

    When I get to NY, you’re going to have go with me to Max Brenners – and probably loan me some insulin.
    Our Sunday was a beautiful Mass at church and then an Easter buffet. I did okay until I ate the carrot cake.
    Great pictures – no blooming trees up here, yet.

  5. Sara permalink
    April 13, 2009 7:47 PM

    I flew to my brother’s house for the weekend, and we went to his in-laws after church. 28 people, 6 kids ages 3-9 for the egg hunt.

    Oh, and I also saw the Hannah Montana movie.😀

  6. April 15, 2009 12:48 AM

    Oh my gosh these photos make me miss NYU so, so much!

Comments are closed.